Review: Archangel’s Enigma by Nalini Singh

Archangels Enigma

Archangel’s Enigma
Author: Nalini Singh
Published: 2015
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Series: Guild Hunter #8
Rating: A


Archangel’s Enigma is the eighth book in Nalini Singh’s Guild Hunter series, which is set in a reality where angel’s rule the world. Unlike Singh’s Psy-Changeling series, these books have a little more edge to them and lean more toward Urban Fantasy than strictly Paranormal Romance.

Young angelic scholar, Andromeda wants nothing more than to be left to her studies. Unfortunately, her time is running short and she must soon return home to serve for 500 years in a corrupt court. Before she faces her unpleasant future, Andromeda decides to help Archangel Raphael find the resting place of an ancient angel who has been sleeping for centuries. To assist her in the quest, Raphael sends the feral Naasir.

Naasir is one of Raphael’s Seven and has always been a little off. Not quite a vampire, but something else all together and the only of his kind. At the beginning of Archangel’s Enigma, Naasir is frustrated that it’s taking so long to find his mate. When he finally stumbles across Andromeda, they don’t exactly get off on the right foot and he almost writes her off. As they progress with their mission, the two grow closer and it was wonderful to watch them slowly discover each other’s hidden sides.

My favorite books by Singh are the ones where she focuses on characters that are slightly animalistic. So, it’s not a surprise that this is now one of my favorite installments in the Guild Hunter series. Naasir’s slightly off-kilter way of thinking was a lot of fun to watch, especially when it brushed up against Andromeda’s tightly controlled person.

While I enjoyed the story and characters, I only wish that everyone hadn’t been head over heels for Naasir. One of my pet peeves is when everyone adores a main character. For Naasir, it was like everyone who knew him just gushed and I hated it. He’s obviously something no one has came across before, so it would have made more sense if we saw at least a couple of people who didn’t like him because he disturbed them. Also, while I enjoyed the ending, I thought it was too neatly wrapped up. Even Andromeda’s mother had to be slightly redeemed at the end.

After being disappointed with Singh’s last couple of books, this one was a breath of fresh air. I can’t wait to read her next book now.


Other reviews for books in this series

12 thoughts on “Review: Archangel’s Enigma by Nalini Singh

  1. I think I’ve read one by this author – from the psy-changeling series – although I could just be dreaming. In fact I think I might have a couple more on my shelves that I’ve not had time for yet – did you read the previous series? Was it good?
    Lynn 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • I love Singh’s books! I did read the Psy-Changeling series and they’re almost all great. There were only a couple that didn’t work for me. It’s worth giving a shot if you’re interested.

      Like

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Best Books I Read In 2015 | Book Minx Reads

  3. Pingback: Top 10 Week: Best Book Boyfriends of 2015 | Book Minx Reads

  4. Pingback: 2015 in Review | Book Minx Reads

  5. Pingback: Review: Archangel’s Legion by Nalini Singh | Book Minx

  6. Pingback: ARC Review: Archangel’s Heart by Nalini Singh | Book Minx

Leave a comment