Review: Eternal Kiss of Darkness by Jeaniene Frost

eternal kiss of darkness

Eternal Kiss of Darkness
Author: Jeaniene Frost
Published: 2010
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Series: Night Huntress World #2
Rating: B+


Eternal Kiss of Darkness is the second book in Jeaniene Frost’s Night Huntress World. It follows the romance Mencheres (a side character from Frost’s main Night Huntress series) develops with Kira, a private investigator. Mencheres has grown weary of life and has started putting into action the means for him to commit vampire suicide. At least that’s his plan until Kira stumbles into his life.

This would have been a really boring book if it hadn’t been for Mencheres, and eventually Vlad popping up in the story. I felt Kira was way too “mary-sue” for Mencheres. I loved that she was portrayed as level headed and strong, but nothing about her was interesting. She selflessly devotes a large chunk of her income and time towards her dying sister, and has no emotional settings except for acceptance and concern. She found out vampires existed and was like “oh okay”. In fact, that was basically her reaction to everything in this book. Continue reading

Advertisements

Review: Must Love Hellhounds by Various

must love hell hounds

Must Love Hellhounds
Authors: Various
Published: 2009
Genre: Paranormal Romance/Urban Fantasy Anthology
Series: Southern Vampire Mysteries #9, Guild Hunter #.5, Kate Daniels #3.5, & The Guardians #5.5
Rating: B


The Brittingens Go to Hell by Charlaine Harris

Rating: N/A
Didn’t read this installment in the book. I’ve tried to read Harris in the past but could never really get into her. So I decided to skip this one.


Angels’ Judgment by Nalini Singh

Rating: A-
This is a short prequel story to Singh’s Guild Hunter series. It features Sara Haziz right before she decides to accept the Guild Hunter director job. Its basically a “how they met” story about how Sara and her husband, Deacon, got together. I loved this story.

Sara and Deacon are assigned the job of finding out who is behind a spurt of vampire slayings in the area. Signs point to it being a hunter who has gone rogue. However, things begin to get complicated when one of the archangels decides to test the potential new guild director.

Like most of the things I’ve read from Singh, this was pretty fabulous. However, places felt a little rushed. Singh had several good plot threads going that could’ve easily carried a longer story. Great installment for fans of the series. Continue reading

Review: Fangs for the Memories by Molly Harper

Fangs for the Memories

Fangs for the Memories
Author: Molly Harper
Published: 2015
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Series: Half-Moon Hollow #4.5
Rating: B+


Fangs for the Memories is a short story that takes place within the same time period as Molly Harper’s second Jane Jameson book, Nice Girls Don’t Date Dead Men.

The story focuses on Andrea and Dick Cheney’s (not that Dick Cheney) budding relationship, which we’ve seen slowly evolving on the sidelines in the Jane books. Live blood donor, Andrea, has been trying to ignore her attraction to Dick for quite a while. She’s had enough of smooth talking vampires to last her a lifetime. When one of her clients puts her in a bad situation, Andrea is surprised to find that it’s Dick who steps up to the plate and helps her out.

This is a very cute short story with Andrea and Dick. I loved getting a closer look at both of these characters and seeing that Andrea is just as mischievous as Dick. These two are just so enjoyable to watch interact. It left me hoping (in vain, I think) for a full length book featuring them.

While this is a great treat for fans of Harper’s books, I don’t think I would recommend it to someone who hasn’t read at least the first two Jane books. Since Harper is working within the parameters of what we saw happening on the sidelines in those stories, things jump around a little and there’s not much character development. If you’re looking to test the water with a shorter story before diving into one of Harper’s full length books, I would recommend checking-out the novella Driving Mr. Dead instead.

Review: Twice Tempted by Jeaniene Frost

twice tempted

Twice Tempted
Author: Jeaniene Frost
Published: 2013
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Series: Night Prince #2
Rating: B+


Twice Tempted is the second book in Jeaniene Frost’s Night Prince series, which features Vlad from her main Night Huntress books.

Leila is an ex-circus performer with a psychic gift that has been on the fritz, ever since her last adventure. At the start of the book, she’s tired of her lover, Vlad, constantly keeping her at arms length. When she humiliates herself by misunderstanding a gesture from him, she realizes that he will never let her all the way into his life. No longer content with that arrangement, Leila decides to return to her old life; only to be confronted with the fact that someone is trying to assassinate her. Someone who might just be Vlad, who has never handled a hurt ego very well. Continue reading

Review: Lothaire by Kresley Cole

lothaire

Lothaire
Author: Kresley Cole
Published: 2012
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Series: Immortals After Dark #12
Rating: D+


Lothaire has found his bride, the woman who brings his body back to life and is his destined mate. The problem is that two souls currently inhabit his bride’s body. One is an evil goddess who lives for blood, violence and all around nefarious deeds. The other is Ellie, a mortal hillbilly who is content to live-out life on her family’s land. Naturally, Lothaire assumes that his bride is the evil goddess and begins planning a way to exterminate Ellie’s soul.

After waking up covered in other people’s blood, Ellie decides that the only way to stop the goddess is to kill the body they share. But every time Ellie devises a way to kill herself, Lothaire seems to know and pops-up out of nowhere to stop her. After one close call, Lothaire decides that the safest place to keep an eye on Ellie is close by. With this in mind, Lothaire hauls Ellie off to New York where she’ll be prisoner until he discovers a way to kill her soul. Continue reading

Review: First Drop of Crimson

first drop of crimson

First Drop of Crimson
Author: Jeaniene Frost
Published: 2010
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Series: Night Huntress World #1
Rating: C


First Drop of Crimson is the first spin-off novel set in Jeanine Frost’s popular Night Huntress universe. It’s a standalone that focuses on Denise and Spade, who are two reoccurring side characters from the main series.

A demon has slowly been killing off members of Denise’s family. After she witnesses the demon murder her cousin, he makes her a deal. Find the relative who skipped out on a bargain with him and she won’t meet the same fate. With Cat and Bones out of country, Denise enlists the assistance of the only other vampires she knows, Spade. With Spade’s help, Denise has to track down her errant relative, who is hidden in the vampire community, before the demon runs out of patience.
Continue reading

Archangel’s Shadows

17409835

Archangel’s Shadows

Author: Nalini Singh

Publish Date: 2014

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Series: Guild Hunter, book 7

Rating: C


Archangel’s Shadows is the seventh installment in Nalini Singh’s Guild Hunter series and features the characters Ashwini and Janvier. I had been looking forward to seeing Ashwini and Janvier get their book ever since I read about them in the short story, Angel’s PawnUnfortunately, I was a little let down by their novel.

Ashwini is still recovering from an injury she sustained in the last book, Archangel’s Legionwhen she’s given the “fluff” task of investigating the cause of a mummified dog. What on the surface looks to be a simple case, turns out to be connected to something much more insidious. With the city’s vampire population on the verge of going into a blood frenzy Ashwini will need to work together with vampire, Janvier, to put the pieces together before everything turns to chaos.

From my description you would think that most of the book will concentrate on Ashwini and Janvier, but that would be incorrect. Archangel’s Shadows is steeped in characters and the perspective changes frequently. As I’m a fan of ensemble books, this normally wouldn’t be an issue but it didn’t work for me here. Primarily because when the point of view switched to characters other than Ashwini or Janvier it was rarely to advance the main plot. This caused the book to drag in places and interrupted the flow of the story.

I also had an issue with how easy everything was for Ashwini and Janvier. Conflicts were handled quickly and efficiently, both in their investigation and their relationship. The big battle (if that’s what you would call it) lasted a nano-second and both of them walked away without a scratch. This was a huge let down after watching Ash and Janvier try to find answers around a mummified dog and dead prostitute for most of the story. The same thing goes for the conflict in their relationship. Most of the book is Ashwini angst-ing over if she should pursue Janvier since she has a “big dark secret” that might ruin their relationship. While I could understand her worry, it was annoying how easily the issue was fixed once she finally told Janvier about it. I hate when the majority of conflict between characters is due to not talking and the solution to Ash’s problem was so obvious that the whole situation was just frustrating by the end.

I’ve heard a lot of people refer to this installment in the series as a filler book and I can see where they’re coming from. After the events of the Archangel’s Legion, I’m guessing that Singh wanted to re-stabilize her world and that’s why this book’s plot is rather low-key. However, the low amount of conflict, tension, and how easy problems were solved didn’t work for me here. I look forward to reading the next installment in the series, but I’m really hoping that Singh will start keeping her books to one or two character perspectives.