2016 in Review

 

l4jyparpk3whtl0m4

Happy New Year, everyone! In 2016, I read a total of 65 books, which is about 59 less than I read in 2015. Out of those books, the majority of them were paranormal romance and about 34 were published in 2016 (that’s more than the 22 new releases I read in 2015).

Where what I read came from in 2016:

  • Bought and read immediately: 28 books
  • ARC: 14 books
  • Library: 10 books
  • TBR Pile: 6 books
  • Borrowed: 7 books

Genres Read:

  • Paranormal Romance: 20
  • Manga/Comic/Graphic Novel: 14
  • Young Adult: 6
  • Mystery/Thriller: 6
  • Fantasy/Urban Fantasy: 6
  • Horror: 4
  • Erotica: 3
  • Sci-Fi: 2
  • Non-Fiction: 2
  • Literary Fiction: 1
  • Classic Literature: 1

Author Breakdown by Gender: 74% female, 26% male (compared to 90% female, 10% male from 2015)

Books by “New to Me” Authors Read: 29

Reviews Written: 27


Favorite New Releases in 2016

All links go to my review for the book or GoodReads.

Favorite New Release
Vassa in the Night by Sarah Porter

vassa in the night

Favorite New Series
Paper Girls by Brian K. Vaughn
paper girls

 


Best of What I Read in 2016

The following books are my favorite picks of what I read in 2016. If I read more than 4 in a particular genre, I made a category for it below and listed my favorite. So, some of these categories are different than what I listed in 2014 and in 2015.

Favorite Overall
Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo (Six of Crows #1)
six of crows

Favorite Urban Fantasy/Fantasy
Uprooted by Naomi Novik
uprooted

Favorite Paranormal Romance
Where the Wild Things Bite by Molly Harper (Half-Moon Hollow #5)
where the wild things bite

Favorite Mystery/Thriller
The Woman in Cabin 10 by Ruth Ware
the woman in cabin 10

Favorite Comic/Graphic Novel
Storm, vol. 1: Make it Rain by Greg Pak
storm make it rain

Favorite Horror
The Hatching by Ezekiel Boone (The Hatching #1)
The Hatching

Favorite Young Adult
Newt’s Emerald by Garth Nix
newts emerald

5 thoughts on “2016 in Review

  1. Oh I love seeing 2016 blow up lol. Interesting to see the breakdown though- I didn’t do one of these but I’m kinda curious now. 🙂 Paper Girls I need to get a hold of- and Six of Crows I want to read. I like Woman in Cabin 10 too.

    Like

  2. I keep forgetting about Molly Harper!! UGH!!!!!! I so want to read her series b/c I heard it was a cute series (both of them, right???) And it’s awesome to see Vassa on your list. That was a book I kind of forgot to put on my lists…. oops. I did love her original take on that tale!! Such fantastic writing, too!

    Happy New Year!!!!!

    Like

  3. Dang, I’m impressed that you bought and immediately read 28 books! I need to get better with this, since I usually leave books sitting on the shelf for at least a few months before reading.

    Newt’s Emerald is such an adorable read! It doesn’t get enough love. I’m excited to read Garth Nix’s Frogkisser this year, too!

    Like

Leave a comment