Top Ten Tuesday: 10 Book to Movie Adaptations I’m Looking Forward To

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s theme is 10 book to movie adaptations I’m looking forward to.

I wanted to confine this list to book to movie adaptations that have trailers out already, so the first half of my list is upcoming releases that I’m looking forward to and the second half is older releases I still need to watch.


Coming Soon or Out in Theaters Now

The Martian (2015) In Theaters Now

Based on The Martian by Andy Weir. I read the book last year and loved it. So, I’m really looking forward to getting over to the theater to see this one soon.


Victor Frankenstein  (Nov. 25, 2015)

Based on Frankenstein by Mary Shelley. Another retelling of Frankenstein that looks interesting. I have a thing for dark movies and James McAvoy and Daniel Radcliffe are always fun to watch.




The Jungle Book (April 15, 2016)

Based on The Jungle Book by Rudyard Kipling. I have mixed feelings about this one, but it still looks like a cute live action version of the animated Disney version from 1967.



Alice Through the Looking Glass (May 27, 2016)

Based on Through the Looking Glass by Lewis Carroll. I am ridiculously excited about this one. I’m one of the few people I know who actually enjoyed Tim Burton’s Alice in Wonderland. I loved seeing Alice go through a hero’s journey and can’t wait to see what they do with this one.



Suicide Squad (August 5, 2016)

Based on the comic series Suicide Squad. I’m not too sure about this one. For one, that trailer is boring, which doesn’t bode well for the movie. Two, I’m not confident in their ability to do a good job with all the characters, especially the female ones. (Also, I hate the Joker’s look here.) However, Will Smith as Deadshot really stands out in the trailer. So, I’m looking forward to seeing what he does with the role.


Old Releases


Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day (2008)

Based on Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day by Winifred Watson. This is one of my favorite books, but I keep putting off watching the movie. Mostly because I hear it wasn’t all that great.



Shutter Island (2009)

Based on Shutter Island by Dennis Lehane. I haven’t read the book yet, but the trailer has always captured my attention.



No Country for Old Men (2007)

Based on No Country for Old Men by Cormac McCarthy. I enjoyed the book and love the Coen brothers’ films. This one has been sitting on my watchlist for a quite a few years, I just haven’t gotten around to watching it yet.



The Maltese Falcon (1941)

Based on The Maltese Falcon by Dashiell Hammet. I haven’t read the book of this one either. It’s just a classic that’s been both on my TBR pile and watchlist for quite a while.



Carrie (2013)

Based on Carrie by Stephen King. I’m guessing the remake of the movie is horrible, but I can’t help myself. I still want to watch this one. I love Julianne Moore, so I’m hoping it won’t be too awful.

31 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: 10 Book to Movie Adaptations I’m Looking Forward To

  1. I want to see The Martian, but I defintely want to read the book before I see the movie. I’m also really excited for The Jungle Book. I know some people don’t like that Disney is milking the live action remake thing which I can see why, but I’ll probably still go see it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I listened to the audiobook of The Martian last year and it was fantastic. I hope you like the book and movie when you get around to reading/watching them!

      And yeah, Disney is getting a little crazy with the live action remakes, but I don’t mind it all that much.

      Like

    • It’s been a long time since I read Frankenstein. It’s a great classic. I love all the different adaptations of it. Can’t wait for this one. I’m glad you’re interested in seeing it too. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

