ARC Review: Dead Heat by Patricia Briggs

dead heat

Dead Heat
Author: Patricia Briggs
Release Date: March 3rd 2015
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Series: Alpha and Omega #4
Rating: B –

Dead Heat is the long awaited fourth book in Patricia Briggs’ Alpha and Omega series. While this series can be read without reading the Mercy Thompson books (to which it has strong ties), I would highly recommend reading the Alpha and Omega stories in order, due to the world’s politics.

Taking a trip down to Arizona to buy a horse and see an old friend should’ve been a simple journey for mated werewolves, Anna and Charles Cornick. Unfortunately, things rarely go as planned for the pair, as they quickly find themselves in the middle of an investigation. Something has been hunting children in town and has made the mistake of attacking a family considered Pack. All signs are pointing to the Fae, even though they’ve all quarantined themselves away. Anna and Charles will have to step lightly as they look into the attack to avoid tipping the scales on the cold war between the Fae and humans.

At this point in the series, most of the dust between Anna and Charles has settled. They seem to have reached a point in their relationship where they’re both feeling secure and that shows here. There’s some mild tension between them about the possibility of a baby, but that takes an extreme backseat compared to the other things happening. I’m a huge fan of internal conflict between protagonists, so I definitely missed the tension in Charles and Anna’s relationship throughout Dead Heat.
Continue reading

Fair Game


Fair Game

Author: Patricia Briggs

Publish Date: 2012

Genre: Urban Fantasy

Series: Alpha and Omega #3

Rating: A-

Fair Game is the third book in Patricia Briggs’ Alpha and Omega series. In this addition, Charles is struggling with how brutal the axe-man role has gotten now that people know werewolves exist. After Bram and Anna recognize how much Charles is struggling, it’s decided that he should go with Anna to assist in solving a spree of murders. Bram and Anna both hope that by giving Charles an opportunity to help people, rather than act as executioner, will help him overcome his struggle.

Unfortunately, I didn’t enjoy this one as much as the previous books in the series, but it was still a great addition. My main problem was that too much time had passed in Anna and Charles’ world between Hunting Ground and this one. In Hunting Ground, Anna was really struggling with her past and her new place in Charles’ life. At the end of that book, there were still a lot of emotional issues that Anna needed to overcome. As Fair Game opens, it looks like Anna has solved all those issues off-page. Suddenly she’s confident enough to not only face-off with Bram (the alpha) but to argue with him while he’s in a rage. I was thrown by this because it’s a huge difference from Anna in the first two books. In Hunting Ground, she couldn’t even sit in the same room with alpha wolves. Now she can stand her ground against one of the most powerful ones out there. This huge leap in Anna’s progress made it feel like I somehow missed a short story or novel that would explain where this new confidence came from.

Aside from the sudden change in Anna’s mental state, I really loved the story-line here. It was great to see Anna get to be the stable one in the relationship and Charles be vulnerable when in the previous books it was the other way around.  This gave a feeling of equality and balance to their relationship. The side-characters were also intriguing, especially in regards to the ending. I’m looking forward to seeing where Briggs will take this series with Dead Heat (book 4) which comes out March 3rd 2015.