Top 10 Tuesday: Favorite TV Shows

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is to pick a TV-themed topic. So, I’m choosing to do my top 10 favorite TV shows, at the moment. From the list you’re going to be able to tell that I haven’t been watching a whole lot of new stuff lately.


3oedv84nfsnmnsk7dk

X-Files
Series Run: 9 seasons, plus 2 movies and a revival
Originally Aired: 1993 – 2002, 2016
Genre: Sci-Fi, Horror-lite
Favorite Character: Dana Scully
Top 5 Favorite Episodes: (1) Beyond the Sea; (2) Ice; (3) Die Hand Die Verletzt; (4) Jose Chung’s ‘From Outer Space’; (5) Detour

I binged hardcore on The X-Files in 2015. For the most part, the show has held up spectacularly well. Sure, there’s some technology focused episodes that are ridiculous/cringe-worthy but the rest is pretty solid.

Where the Show Lost Me: Middle of season 7. This is one of those shows that dragged on too long. The overarching mythology started to get too crazy for me in season 6 but I manged to hold on for a little while longer before giving up. I did, however, watch the short revival that aired last year.


 u5kuvsbkewd1k

Firefly
Series Run: 0.5 seasons, plus 1 movie
Originally Aired: 2003 – 2004
Genre: Sci-Fi, Space Western
Favorite Character: Zoë Washburne
Top 5 Favorite Episodes: (1) The Train Job; (2) Out of Gas; (3) Our Mrs. Reynolds; (4) Jaynestown; (5) War Stories

For only having 14 episodes, Firefly has a major cult following. I wasn’t among those who watched it as it aired on TV, since I was still a little too young to get into it. Plus, my love of sci-fi didn’t develop until about six years ago.

Where the Show Lost Me: Serenity. Okay, okay. I still kind of love the movie since it offers nice closure to some things Firefly never had the opportunity to conclude. But I still like to pretend certain things didn’t happen.


ymbqi6eplediu

Buffy the Vampire Slayer
Series Run: 7 seasons
Originally Aired: 1997 – 2003
Genre: Fantasy, Horror-lite
Favorite Character: Willow Rosenberg
Top 5 Favorite Episodes: (1) Hush; (2) The Gift; (3) Beauty and the Beasts; (4) Fear Itself; (5) Bewitched, Bothered and Bewildered

Buffy was probably the first show I got super obsessed with. I started watching in junior high and forced my mom to endure watching it every week as new episodes aired. Even though my favorite episodes above don’t really reflect it, season 2 and 3 are my favorites. I think the overarching plots are great in those two seasons….even though season 5’s was excellent too.

Where the Show Lost Me: Season 6. “The Gift” was such an excellent end to Buffy’s story that I hated to see the show get picked-up by another station. There were some good one-off episodes in season 6, but overall the tone was pretty depressing and I just didn’t like the direction it was taking.


 

u79blcmlxzqau

The Addams Family
Series Run: 2 seasons
Originally Aired: 1964 – 1966
Genre: Sitcom
Favorite Character: Gomez Addams
Top 5 Favorite Episodes: (1) Green-Eyed Gomez; (2) The New Neighbors Meet the Addams Family; (3) Cousin Itt Visits the Addams Family; (4) Amnesia in the Addams Family; (5) Morticia, the Decorator

This is such a comfort show to me. It’s down-right charming and a great mood lifter. I really love the dynamics between Morticia and Gomez. It’s my favorite part of watching this one.
Where the Show Lost Me: It didn’t. This is just a fluffy fun show that didn’t suffer from being dragged on too long.


72dkxxnnxhfw8

Roseanne
Series Run: 9 seasons
Originally Aired: 1988 – 1997
Genre: Sitcom
Favorite Character: Darlene Conner
Top 5 Favorite Episodes: (1) Brain-Dead Poets Society ; (2) We Gather Together; (3) Wait till Your Father Gets Home ; (4) A Stash from the Past; (5) Chicken Hearts

I grew up with this show. I remember my parents watching it every week and while I was way to young to get most of the jokes. When I got a little older, I started watching it on Nick at Nite and got really into it. It’s one of the shows that stays consistently on my favorites list.
Where the Show Lost Me: Season 9. I think most fans would agree that Roseanne got horrible when the family won the lottery. Despite this, the series finale is really fantastic.


flawwktfeijru

Frasier
Series Run: 11 seasons
Originally Aired: 1993 – 2004
Genre: Sitcom
Favorite Character: Niles Crane
Top 5 Favorite Episodes: (1) You Scratch My Book ; (2) Head Game; (3) An Affair to Forget; (4) Voyage of the Damned; (5) The Show Where Diane Comes Back

Holy cow there are a ton of seasons to this show. I’m only up to season 6 so far, but still really enjoying it. Let’s be honest though. I’m watching it for Niles, Roz and Martin, not so much Frasier.

Where the Show Lost Me: It hasn’t lost me yet, since I’m still working my way through the seasons. With 11 seasons though, I’m waiting for the shark jumping moment.


4c1v2ewscvcow

Spaced
Series Run: 2 seasons
Originally Aired: 1999 and 2001
Genre: Sitcom
Favorite Character: Brian Topp
Top 5 Favorite Episodes: (1) Art ; (2) Epiphanies ; (3) Change; (4) Ends; (5) Mettle

Spaced is the first show on this list where I found picking a favorite character to be difficult. Honestly, I love the whole ensemble. If you were alive in the 90’s, I think you’ll find something to enjoy about this sitcom. Especially if you’re a fan of Simon Pegg and Nick Frost.

Where the Show Lost Me: Never did. Both seasons are really great.


 

Heroes-T-1920x1080

Heroes
Series Run: 4 seasons
Originally Aired: 2006 – 2010
Genre: Drama
Favorite Character: Sylar
Top 5 Favorite Episodes: (1) Seven Minutes to Midnight ; (2) Homecoming ; (3) Distractions; (4) .07%; (5) How to Stop an Exploding Man

It’s kind of hard to choose five favorite episodes since Heroes basically watches like one long movie.
Where the Show Lost Me: Season 2. Yup, this one lost me quick.


 

niadxls0ylpvy

Hey Arnold!
Series Run: 5 seasons, plus a movie
Originally Aired: 1994 – 2004
Genre: Cartoon
Favorite Character: Helga Pataki
Top 5 Favorite Episodes: (1) Stoop Kid ; (2) False Alarm ; (3) Curly Snaps; (4) Eugene’s Birthday; (5) Helga’s Parrot

I watch a lot of cartoons. So, I felt the need to include a couple of the ones I watch on this list. Hey Arnold is here because of some heavy nostalgia. It’s a cute cartoon that I still occasionally watch when I’m looking for something light.
Where the Show Lost Me: It didn’t really. There’s some episodes I like better than others, but for the most part I enjoyed all the seasons.


zpyaajkod3ye8

Gravity Falls
Series Run: 2 seasons
Originally Aired: 2012 – 2016
Genre: Cartoon
Favorite Character: Mabel Pines
Top 5 Favorite Episodes: (1) Summerween ; (2) Bottomless Pit ; (3) Sock Opera; (4) Soos and the Real Girl; (5) Fight Fighters

I love quirky cartoons and this one is fabulous. Lots of fun and subtle callback to 80’s/90’s things throughout the series.

Where the Show Lost Me: Never did.

16 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday: Favorite TV Shows

  1. I got stuck on season six of Buffy when I binged it a few summers ago! I loved the first five seasons and flew through them so fast but the plot of season six was dragging on way too long so I took I break. I haven’t returned to it since, I have been wanting to finish it but I just can’t bring myself to get through season six! Glad to hear I’m not the only one who doesn’t care for that season.
    Mallory @ The Local Muse

    Liked by 1 person

    • Awww, good luck if you decide to go back to it. I do kind of like the season finale of season 6. There’s a nice Xander and Willow moment there. But it’s not a season I ever go back and rewatch. Usually if I do rewatches it’s the high school episodes.

      Like

  2. I’ve never watched Buffy believe it or not, I should binge it at some point. Same with Firefly, I know Netflix has it. I did like the first season of Heroes… I thought that show had so much potential but lost interest after the first season.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I agree completely about Heroes. It had so much potentially and I think it would’ve been fantastic if they had stuck with the original idea of trading out the characters after every season. Yes! Definitely watch at least Firefly. It’s fabulous.

      Like

    • Oh yeah! I remember Home. After hearing all the controversy about that episode I was expecting something extremely disturbing and was kind let down. I think after seeing shows like American Horror Story, that episode didn’t pack as much punch as it would’ve had I watched it when it first aired. I’m with you on Buffy. I gave up after season 6.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I loooove Frasier. I still dig the series up to watch every now and then. I would say the moment things started downhill was when Niles finally got with Daphne. It was like, I knew that was going to happen, but unfortunately it just wasn’t as wonderful as I expected it to be. The show lost a lot of its humor and anticipation after that.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m glad you love Frasier too!! One reason why I haven’t made it too far into the show is because I keep going back to re-watch some earlier episodes. 😛 I can definitely see the show going downhill once those two get together. They have the big will they/won’t they thing going on. Honestly, I’m not a big fan of Niles and Daphne together. They’re too different (and not in a good way) for me to get on board with their relationship/believe the attraction.

      Like

  4. LOVE Buffy, but you’re right: it definitely started its downward spiral in season 6. My favourite episode is Once More With Feeling though, which is a season 7 ep. What can I say? I love a good musical, especially a funny, self-deprecating one!

    Gravity Falls sounds awesome. Definitely going to check that one out!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Yay Buffy! I need to do a re-watch sometime soon. There were defnitely some episodes towards the end I didn’t love but I loved getting some Spike in there.

    I hadn’t heard of Spaced. I’ll have to check that out.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

