August Monthly Wrap-Up

128mhrlrhnwwu0

Books Read: 11

I meant to get caught-up on my reviews during my stay-at-home vacation in August, but I decided that naps and board games were more important. I’m hoping to get back on track in September.


Quick Review

steelheart Steelheart by Brandon Sanderson

Published: 2013
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy
Series: Reckoners #1
Rating: C

This was our book club pick for July, which I was pretty excited about since Sanderson has been on my TBR pile for years. Unfortunately, I couldn’t really get into it. The world building was pretty awesome, but the main character, David, and his love interest/crush, Megan, drove me insane. Every time Megan opened her mouth was like nails on a chalkboard to me. While I won’t be continuing with the series, I’ll give some of Sanderson’s other stuff a shot.


 

Odds and Ends

  • September is library card sign-up month! Show your local library some love and sign-up or renew your card today. Already have a library card? You can join the fun by posting what your library happiness is on either Twitter or Instagram. Use the hastag #LibraryHappinessIs for a chance to win $100 dollars from the American Library Association. (ALA.org)
  • In case you missed it, John Lewis crowd surfed while promoting the release of March: Book 3 on the Late Show. (CCN.com)
  • Marvel reveals what Thor was doing during Captain America: Civil War. (TheMarySue.com)
  • I don’t care who you are. This American Horror Story season 6 teaser trailer is terrifying as hell and I wish YouTube would stop subjecting me to it. All I want to do is watch Mystery Science Theater 3,000. Not have nightmares of this doll crawling toward me across the ceiling a la Trainspotting.


Reading Challenge Progress

743595af875fa2f14ce64ba61d36a6c3 New To You Reading Challenge

2016 Goal: 25 “New to Me” Authors

Total Goal Progress: 18/25


ReadMyOwnDamnBooksbutton Read My Own Damn Books Challenge

2016 Goal: Clear my TBR pile down to 100 books

TBR count at the beginning of the month: 193

TBR count at the end of the month: 181

Yaaaaas! Finally going the right way with this. Doubtful I’ll be able to drop down to 100 in four months, but I won’t be disappointed if I can hit 150.


New-Release-Challenge2016-450x450 2016 New Release Challenge

2016 Goal: 1 – 15 books – New Release Newbie

Total Goal Progress: 18/15 DONE!


pick your genre

Dates of Challenge: Jan. 1, 2016 – December 31, 2016

Sign-up Post:Click here

6 thoughts on “August Monthly Wrap-Up

  1. I love that books graphic at the top of your post. And lol about board games- sounds like a good way to spend time off. 🙂 I’ve been wondering about Sanderson and if I do try him i may go with one of his fantasies, since that’s my go-to genre anyway probably would have the most chance of success. I liked that Thor story, I saw that the other day. Pretty funny. and that doll thing- no. I’m not even watching that .

    Great job on the challenges!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

