Read it or Ditch it: Phantom by Susan Kay

read it or ditch it

“Read it or Ditch it” is a new weekly feature I’ll be doing each Monday on the blog. The goal is to force myself into making a decision regarding some titles on my TBR pile. Each week I’ll select a book that has sat unread on my shelves for longer than a year and ask the question “Read it or Ditch it?”. If I still want to read it, then by posting it here I’m claiming that I’ll read it by the end of the year. If I’m no longer interested in the book, then this is a send off to the title since I’ll either be donating or selling it.

At the end of the year, I’ll do a round-up post to see how I did. If there are any titles that I said I’d read, but still didn’t, then I’ll either donate or sell those. Hopefully, doing this will help me reach my goal of only 100 books sitting unread on my TBR pile by the end of 2016.


190507

Phantom
Author: Susan Kay
Published: 1990
Genre: Historical Fiction
Length of Time on TBR Pile: About 10 years
Read it or Ditch it?: Ditch it

This is a relic from the years when I was obsessed with Phantom of the Opera. While I still love the Broadway play, some of my ardor for it has decreased over the years. So, this one doesn’t strike my fancy as much as it once did. Since it’s been on my TBR forever, I’m going to let it go.

Back Cover Description:

A child is born… His mother’s only gift is a mask. Precocious and gifted, he will live friendless and alone. taunted and abused, he will flee, only to find himself caged again-as a freak in a Gypsy carnival. A brilliant outcast… the world is his home. Filled with bitter rage, he will kill to escape, becoming a stonemason’s apprentice in Rome… a dark magician at the treacherous Persian court… and finally, the genius behind the construction of the Paris Opera House and the labyrinthine world below. Lacking one thing only: A woman’s love. Cloaked in secrets, his power complete, he will see the exquisite Christine and for the first time know what it means to love. Obsessed, he will bring her into his eerie subterranean world, driven to posses her heart and soul. “Phantom” –A haunting story of power and darkness, of magic and murder, of sensuality and betrayal, and ultimately, the unforgettable story of a man and a woman and the eternal quality of love.

7 thoughts on “Read it or Ditch it: Phantom by Susan Kay

  1. This wouldn’t be my thing either. For some reason i always thought that story seemed a little creepy, although to be fair I’ve never seen the play so maybe I can’t say- judging something I haven’t seen and all that. It’s probably an amazing play… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m a huge lover of Phantom of the Opera myself, but I totally get why you decided to let this one go. Ten years is a really, really long time to hold onto a book that hasn’t been calling out to you! Although I’m sure I have at least a few in that same category myself…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Read it or Ditch it: The Catch-Up Post | Book Minx

Leave a Reply

