Review: My Best Friend’s Exorcism

26118005

My Best Friend’s Exorcism
Author: Grady Hendrix
Published: 2016
Genre: Horror
Series: N/A
Rating: B+


Ever since bonding over a disastrous birthday party in the 5th grade, Abby and Gretchen have been inseparable. Now in high school, the ladies are closer than ever. However, an ill-conceived decision at a friend’s lake house leads to Gretchen disappearing into the night. When Abby finds her in the morning, Gretchen is nearly catatonic. As the weeks progress, Gretchen starts acting strange and odd events begin happening whenever she’s around. Abby soon becomes convinced that something horrible happened to her friend that night and that she’s the only one who can help her.

Gretchen’s possible possession plays out pretty slowly here, which I really enjoyed. Going into the book I had been expecting a fast paced and possibly cheesy 80’s themed story to unfold. So, I was surprised to find things built up slow enough that it was believable that most people would be able to turn a blind eye to what was happening with Gretchen. 

The only place where the book lost me was with the exorcism. It was too drawn out and the big climax was a little goofy in comparison with everything that had been happening. While that was disappointing, the story recovers with a pretty touching ending for Abby and Gretchen.

It feels pretty rare to stumble across a horror book where the heart of the story is a friendship between two women. The integrity both girls show in difficult situations does a good job of making it believable that their friendship would be able to stand against all the things that get thrown at them.

If you’re intrigued by a horror story focused on female friendship in an 80’s setting, then I would strongly suggest you give “My Best Friend’s Exorcism” a shot.

9 thoughts on “Review: My Best Friend’s Exorcism

    • Same here! I don’t think I’ve ever read an exorcism story outside of this one, but if that’s typical for the genre I think I’d hesitate to read another one. I can’t wait to pick-up Horrorstor. I’m hoping to get to that one in October.

      Like

  1. Pingback: August Monthly Wrap-Up | Book Minx

Leave a Reply

