Review: Forevermore by Kristen Callihan

forevermore

Forevermore
Author: Kristen Callihan
Published: 2016
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Series: Darkest London #7
Rating: B-


Forevermore” is the final installment in Kristen Callihan’s Darkest London series.

St. John (Sin) Evernight has been in love with Layla Starling since they were children. Separated as teenagers, their lives took two very different paths. Layla rose to stardom as a singer while Sin became the plaything of a cruel creature. Years later, Sin is reunited with Layla as her guard against an ancient evil intent on claiming her. Believing himself too corrupted to be anything more than Layla’s protector, Sin is set on keeping her at arms-length. Layla, however, is determined to keep Sin in her life now that she’s finally found him again.

“Forevermore” was a bit of a departure from the previous Darkest London titles. It shifts focus from elementals to a battle between angels and damnation. Caught in the middle is Layla, who begins to discover unsettling things about her heritage as the damnation draws closer.

I really enjoyed the relationship dynamics between Sin and Layla. Their history together was sweet, as was their playful interactions. It was also refreshing to see them be so open about their interest in each other, both knowing that the only thing in the way of their relationship was Sin’s self-hate.

Where the story fell flat for me was the focus on Layla’s “need” to get married before her guardian dies. I’m not a fan of this trope in romances at all. Since it was mostly used here just to make Sin jealous and to introduce the villain, its inclusion annoyed me.  I was also disappointed at how predictable this one was. One of things I love about the other books was that Callihan consistently raised the stakes for the main characters and took unexpected turns. Here it was clear from the beginning who the villain was and how the story was going to progress.

This is a solid book, but as a sendoff to the series it’s a little lack luster. The previous book, “Soulbound“, would have made a much stronger final book. The villain was more fleshed out and the stakes seemed a lot higher and more urgent than in this one.

“Forevermore” works well as a standalone, but I would recommend reading the previous books in the series to better understand the various relationship dynamics at work here.

ARC provided by Netgalley and the publisher in exchange for an honest review.


Reviews for other books in the series:

5 thoughts on “Review: Forevermore by Kristen Callihan

  1. I LOVE this series and I seriously need to get back to it. I’m curious how it’s evolved since I started with Moonglow a couple of years back. I actually skipped Firelight o.O

    I noticed you skipped around in the series, too. Was there a reason why you didn’t read #3? Just curious… 🙂 Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I don’t blame you for skipping Firelight. It was good, but I think Moonglow was a stronger book. I skipped over book 3 because the plot stressed me out. 😛 I always get anxious when the plot separates a married couple. Mostly because I can’t stand cheating and I get worried that the wounded party (especially if its the hero) is going to sleep with someone else. I need to find someone who has read that one and ask them about it. 😛

      I skipped book 4 for no real reason. I just wanted to read Evernight first at the time and haven’t gone back to read 4 yet.

      Like

  2. Pingback: June Monthly Wrap-Up (Challenge Progress) | Book Minx

  3. Pingback: Sunday Post: July 3 | Book Minx

  4. Pingback: August Monthly Wrap-Up | Book Minx

Leave a Reply

