Read it or Ditch it: Steelheart

read it or ditch it

“Read it or Ditch it” is a new weekly feature I’ll be doing each Monday on the blog. The goal is to force myself into making a decision regarding some titles on my TBR pile. Each week I’ll select a book that has sat unread on my shelves for longer than a year and ask the question “Read it or Ditch it?”. If I still want to read it, then by posting it here I’m claiming that I’ll read it by the end of the year. If I’m no longer interested in the book, then this is a send off to the title since I’ll either be donating or selling it.

At the end of the year, I’ll do a round-up post to see how I did. If there are any titles that I said I’d read, but still didn’t, then I’ll either donate or sell those. Hopefully, doing this will help me reach my goal of only 100 books sitting unread on my TBR pile by the end of 2016.


steelheart

Steelheart
Author: Brandon Sanderson
Published: 2013
Genre: Science Fiction
Length of Time on TBR Pile: About 2 years
Read it or Ditch it?: Read it

I own three books by Sanderson and haven’t ready any of them. So I’m going to commit to reading this one before the end of the year.

Back Cover Description:

Ten years ago, Calamity came. It was a burst in the sky that gave ordinary men and women extraordinary powers. The awed public started calling them Epics.

But Epics are no friend of man. With incredible gifts came the desire to rule. And to rule man you must crush his wills.

Nobody fights the Epics…nobody but the Reckoners. A shadowy group of ordinary humans, they spend their lives studying Epics, finding their weaknesses, and then assassinating them.

And David wants in. He wants Steelheart — the Epic who is said to be invincible. The Epic who killed David’s father. For years, like the Reckoners, David’s been studying, and planning—and he has something they need. Not an object, but an experience.

He’s seen Steelheart bleed. And he wants revenge.

13 thoughts on “Read it or Ditch it: Steelheart

  1. This was actually the first Brandon Sanderson book I read, and I kind of just picked it off the shelf at the library. I didn’t know he was actually a really well-known fantasy author or that this was his first foray into YA. The book blew me away. I guess you kind of have to like superhero-type books, but the writing is just amazing. I went on to read just about everything else by Sanderson after reading this, and I actually just got the third book in the series from the library yesterday.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh really? I didn’t know that this one was YA. I kind of just snagged it when it was on sale because I had heard a lot of great things about it. Glad to hear that you ended up liking his writing! I can’t wait to dive into this one.

      Like

  2. I haven’t read Sanderson, although I’ve been thinking of trying one of his fantasy novels. But which one? I don’t know lol. Maybe the Mistborn or Stormlight series… I need to look into them more.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. YES! Read it! I love Sanderson and I love this series. It’s one of the better takes on the superhero genre that I’ve seen, and as I recall the sequel Firefight is even better. Hope you’ll have fun with it when you get a chance to read it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m so glad to hear that I’m not the only one who owns a bunch of unread Sanderson books! I read Mistborn maybe a year and a half ago now, and I really liked it but for some reason I never continued reading the series. I own an unread copy of Steelheart too. Yikes!

    Liked by 1 person

    • LOL I start a series and then just don’t get around to reading other books in it all the time. I think the most recent one I’ve done that with is the Lunar Chronicles. I read and enjoyed Cinder over a year ago, own all the other books in the series, and haven’t gotten around to reading any of the others yet.

      Like

  5. Pingback: Read it or Ditch it: The Catch-Up Post | Book Minx

Leave a Reply

