May 2016 Wrap-up

b0zseme4da9a4

May was a much better reading month for me than April. I still only read a handful of books, but a lot more of them fit within my challenges for the year. So, I felt more accomplished at the end of the month. Plus, I managed to read and review most of them.


Quick Reviews

The following two books are ones I read in May, but don’t have enough to say about them to justify a review post of their own.

28319560 Wild Things by Jennifer Ashley

Published: 2016
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Serie: Shifters Unbound #7.75
Rating: B

This is one of Ashley’s novellas set in her Shifters Unbound series. It was a cute story that focused on wolf shifter Mason McNaughton going on a quest to find a healer for his people. I loved the parts that took place in New Orleans and wished we could’ve stayed there longer than we did. Things started to feel a little old hat when Ashley brought Mason and his psychic back to the shifter town. Still, this was a solid novella.  


9984524 Jabril by D.B. Reynolds

Published: 2009
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Series: Vampire’s in America #2
Rating: C+

I picked this one up on a whim. P.I. Cynthia Leighton takes a missing persons case in Houston to get away from L.A. and avoid her ex for a bit. She quickly figures out that Jabril, the vampire who hired her, only gave her the job to piss off his rival. After seeing how he treats his young ward, Cynthia decides to turn the trip into a rescue mission.

This was a pretty good urban fantasy. I wasn’t a huge fan of Cynthia’s love interest. I felt he was pretty bland, but I really enjoyed her character. Bonus points for Cynthia saving herself on multiple occasions and for her just being a plain old human.


Reading Challenge Progress

I’m doing horrible on the “Read Your Own Damn Books” challenge. At this point, I think I’m just aiming to get my TBR pile down to 150 by the end of the year. On the bright side, I’m on track for most of these other challenges. I even successfully completed one already!

743595af875fa2f14ce64ba61d36a6c3 New To You Reading Challenge

2016 Goal: 25 “New to Me” Authors

Total Goal Progress: 10/25


ReadMyOwnDamnBooksbutton Read My Own Damn Books Challenge

2016 Goal: Clear my TBR pile down to 100 books

TBR count at the beginning of the month: 189

TBR count at the end of the month: 204

Yikes! I knew that number was definitely going to jump up with going to BEA. I just didn’t expect it to jump up 15 books! I really need to work a little harder on this challenge if I’m going to get it down to 100 by the end of December. Honestly, I would be proud if I could get it trimmed down to at least 150 by then.


New-Release-Challenge2016-450x450 2016 New Release Challenge

2016 Goal: 1 – 15 books – New Release Newbie

Total Goal Progress: 9/15


pick your genre

Dates of Challenge: Jan. 1, 2016 – December 31, 2016

Sign-up Post:Click here

17 thoughts on “May 2016 Wrap-up

  1. Good luck with the challenges, and nice on the fantasy one! I should do the New challenge since I’ve been trying so many new authors lately… looking forward to seeing what you think of The Girl in Cabin 10, i want to read that one when it comes out.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Greg! The New challenge hasn’t been as hard for as I thought it would. I hope you decide to give it a shot.

      The Girl in Cabin 10 has been pretty good so far. The author’s writing style is really nice even though I’m having to adjust to some of the British-isms that randomly pop up.

      Like

  2. Pingback: The Sunday Post Meme (15) | Rabbit Ears Productions Blog

  3. Pingback: June Monthly Wrap-Up (Challenge Progress) | Book Minx

  4. Pingback: August Monthly Wrap-Up | Book Minx

Leave a Reply

