Read it or Ditch it: Anna and the French Kiss

read it or ditch it

“Read it or Ditch it” is a new weekly feature I’ll be doing each Monday on the blog. The goal is to force myself into making a decision regarding some titles on my TBR pile. Each week I’ll select a book that has sat unread on my shelves for longer than a year and ask the question “Read it or Ditch it?”. If I still want to read it, then by posting it here I’m claiming that I’ll read it by the end of the year. If I’m no longer interested in the book, then this is a send off to the title since I’ll either be donating or selling it.

At the end of the year, I’ll do a round-up post to see how I did. If there are any titles that I said I’d read, but still didn’t, then I’ll either donate or sell those. Hopefully, doing this will help me reach my goal of only 100 books sitting unread on my TBR pile by the end of 2016.


Anna and the French Kiss

Anna and the French Kiss
Author: Stephanie Perkins
Published: 2010
Genre: Young Adult
Length of Time on TBR Pile: About 2 years.
Read it or Ditch it?: Ditch it

Everyone seems to love this one, but I think I’m going to let it go. While I often enjoy YA fantasies, I’m not big on contemporary YA books. I got this one back in 2014 because everyone had been raving about the series. Also, I’ll admit I had some hope that it would be a little similar to the movie French Kiss, which is one of my favorite romantic comedies. While “Anna and the French Kiss” hasn’t been on my shelves for as long as some of the other unread books I own, it’s one I really don’t see myself ever picking-up. So, I’m going to donate it.

Back Cover Description:

Anna has everything figured out – she was about to start senior year with her best friend, she had a great weekend job, and her huge work crush looked as if it might finally be going somewhere… Until her dad decides to send her 4383 miles away to Paris. On her own.

But despite not speaking a word of French, Anna finds herself making new friends, including Etienne, the smart, beautiful boy from the floor above. But he’s taken – and Anna might be too. Will a year of romantic near-missed end with the French kiss she’s been waiting for?

9 thoughts on “Read it or Ditch it: Anna and the French Kiss

  1. If your really into fantasy right now then I can see why you would want to ditch this for now. It was my favorite of the series and I loved it but I did read it forever ago too. Lately, I haven’t been reading much in this genre either. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is one book that pissed me off. It’s like a YA soap opera. I clearly missed what everyone else got from this book. If I had a teen daughter, she would not be allowed to read this book because of the whole romance aspect. The only good thing for me was the setting. St. Clair was a boy who had all the girls pining for him so he kept them all on a hook just in case one didn’t work out. He didn’t want to be alone! Then the author wants you to feel sympathy for him because of his parental situations. Gag!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oooo! I think you’re the first person I’ve ran across who really didn’t like this one! That’s good to hear about St. Clair’s character. I don’t think I’d like that at all either. Glad I’m going to donate this one. 🙂

      Like

  3. Pingback: Read it or Ditch it: The Catch-Up Post | Book Minx

Leave a Reply

