Review: Double Play by Kelley Armstrong

double play

Double Play
Author: Kelley Armstrong
Published: 2016
Genre: Thriller
Series: Nadia Stafford #3.5
Rating: A-


For a lot of fans of the Nadia Stafford series, “Double Play” was a huge surprise. This series is a trilogy and not as popular as Armstrong’s Women of the Otherworld or Young Adult books. So, fans had to wait years between each installment. When the third book, “Wild Justice” finally hit shelves, I hadn’t expected Armstrong to write anything further in that world. So, I was thrilled to see notification of this novella’s release pop-up in my email. Did I want to read a little more about Nadia and Jack? Why, yes. Yes I did.

“Double Play” picks up not long after “Wild Justice”. We get a return of all the usual suspects, even Diaz the lawyer who was featured in the last book. When Nadia’s friend, Quinn, goes missing she immediately agrees to help Diaz find him. Cut off from communication with her partner, Jack, Nadia has no way knowing that Quinn’s disappearance is a trap set in place by people looking to get to Jack through her.

This was just a blast to read. It’s extremely fast moving and was great to see where Nadia was in her life after the events of “Wild Justice”. If you’re a fan of the series, you’ll find something to love here. I was only surprised that Armstrong decided to make a character fear that another was dead twice. The second time it felt a little repetitive for such a short story, but I still highly enjoyed myself.

If you’re a fan of the books, this is a fun treat. If you haven’t read the series, I wouldn’t recommend starting with this novella. Most of Armstrong’s short stories work better as supplements to the main books rather than as a way to dip your toes into one of her series.

13 thoughts on “Review: Double Play by Kelley Armstrong

  1. I enjoyed the Kelley Armstrong book I recently read, it seems she does thrillers mixed in with her paranormal and YA stuff. She is a good writer based on my experience with that book… glad this one was good! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I recently just finished my first ever Kelley Armstrong book! It was City of the Lost, her latest thriller. I became an instant fan after reading it, and I loved it so much that now I’m looking to try more of her stuff and I wouldn’t mind staying in the thriller genre. So you would recommend the Nadia Stafford books? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yay!!!! I’m so glad to hear you loved City of the Lost. Armstrong is a fantastic writer. I would definitely recommend the Nadia Stafford books. The first book was fantastic. I hope you like the series! Her Women of the Otherworld series is pretty great as well.

      Like

  3. YESSSS. I recently read City of the Lost and loved it (like Mogsy), and although I’ve read virtually everything else she’s written I haven’t read Arsmtrong’s Nadia Stafford books. I’m certainly going to pick them up now, though. She just does such a good job writing about kinda bad – but still lovable – people, you know? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yay! I’m glad to hear you’re planning on picking up the Nadia Stafford series. I really loved it. She is really good about writing those kind of characters. I really need to get around to reading City of the Lost!

      Like

  4. Pingback: Top 10 Tuesday: Favorite 2016 Releases So Far This Year | Book Minx

  5. Pingback: June Monthly Wrap-Up (Challenge Progress) | Book Minx

  6. Pingback: August Monthly Wrap-Up | Book Minx

Leave a Reply

