First Issue Review: I Kill Giants

28020070

I Kill Giants, Issue 1
Writer: Joe Kelly
Illustrator: J.M. Ken Niimura
Published: 2008
Genre: Comic
Rating: B+


I’ve been hearing a lot of good things about “I Kill Giants”. So, I’m dipping my toes into the series with the first issue.

Barbara Thorson is a quirky bunny ear wearing girl. In her mind, she’s the hero of an epic fantasy. The lone misunderstood giant slayer. The people around her don’t understand what it’s like to bear this burden and Barbara has little patience for participating in general niceties. Her lack of conformity either puts people off or causes trouble for her.
9177ae9e-dbda-4b3c-9d1d-7a8ae3921c0f
Barbara is a sassy character who raises her fist and makes grand proclamations to hide her insecurities. This first issue does a great job of showing you the world through her eyes, where she’s bigger than life, while quietly displaying moments of real vulnerability. It’s fairly clear that Barbara is using fantasy to cope with reality and I’m looking forward to reading more to find out why she’s built such a grand fantasy for herself.
b750bfa8-35d5-41ea-b8a5-432e54473a59
From what I can tell, this looks like it will be a great coming of age story that’s both humorous and poignant. I can’t wait to pick up the full collection the next time I’m at the book store.

11 thoughts on “First Issue Review: I Kill Giants

  1. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves: Week of June 5 | Book Minx

Leave a Reply

