Top Ten Tuesday: 10 Books I Really Love But Feel Like I Haven’t Talked About Enough

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s theme is 10 Books I Really Love But Feel Like I Haven’t Talked About Enough.

This one was hard! There are so many books that I love, but I feel like I’ve talked a lot about those on this site already. Here are a few I don’t think I talked about too much.


 

bloody chamber

The Bloody Chamber by Angela Carter
Genre: Fairytale Retellings

I love dark fairytale retellings and Carter delivers in spades. All of these are pretty twisted. Bonus for them being rather feminist retellings as well.

Back-cover Description: From familiar fairy tales and legends – Red Riding Hood, Bluebeard, Puss-in-Boots, Beauty and the Beast, vampires, werewolves – Angela Carter has created an absorbing collection of dark, sensual, fantastic stories.


last twilight

The Last Twilight by Marjorie M. Liu
Genre: Paranormal Romance

Marjorie M. Liu no longer writes in this series and that depresses me deeply. This was one of my favorite PNR series and there were a few characters I was really looking forward to getting their own book. The Last Twilight is one of my favorites. It’s an extremely exciting addition with the main characters being pursued through Africa by a corrupt organization.

Back-cover Description: Doctor Rikki Kinn is one of the world’s best virus hunters. It’s for that reason she’s in the Congo, working for the CDC. But when mercenaries attempt to take her life to prevent her from investigating a new and deadly plague, her boss calls in a favor from an old friend- the only one who can help.

Africa- a land of lush veldts and roaring falls, untamed splendor and primal fury: Amiri’s home, where he was raised to race as a cheetah, to wake with the sun. It is also a land of lingering nightmare, where he was kidnapped and experimented upon by the evil group named the Consortium. Now, against his better judgement, Amiri has been asked to return to his homeland by his colleagues in Dirk & Steele- men who are friends and brothers, who like himself are more than human. He must protect a woman who is the target of murderers, who has unwittingly involved herself in a conflict that threatens not only the lives of millions, but Amiri’s own soul… and his heart.


11917

Exit Strategy by Kelley Armstrong
Genre: Thriller

I adore Armstrong’s Urban Fantasy books, but this thriller has a special place in my heart. I see a lot of mixed reviews for it, but I really love Nadia. You don’t see many stories where the main female character is a hit-man vigilante.

Back-Cover Description: Regulars at Nadia’s nature lodge don’t ask what she does in the off-season. And that’s a good thing. If she told them, she’d have to kill them. She’s a hit woman for a Mafia family. Tough and self-sufficient, Nadia doesn’t owe anyone any explanations. But that doesn’t mean she always works alone. One of her contacts has recruited her in the hunt for a ruthlessly efficient serial killer cutting a swath of terror across the country. The assassin is far too skilled to be an amateur—and the precision of the killings is bringing the Feds much too close to the hit man community for comfort.

To put an end to the murders, Nadia will have to turn herself from predator to prey as she employs every trick she knows to find the killer. Before the killer finds her.


just the sexiest man alive

Just the Sexiest Man Alive by Julie James
Genre: Contemporary Romance

One of my favorite contemporary romance tropes is famous heroes. James did this trope extremely well here. I loved the heroine, Taylor. The fact that she had a career and didn’t hang everything on hitching her wagon to the hero and his lifestyle was fantastic.

Back Cover Description: Nothing fazes Taylor Donovan. In the courtroom she never lets the opposition see her sweat. In her personal life, she never lets any man rattle her—not even her cheating ex-fiancé. So when she’s assigned to coach People’s “Sexiest Man Alive” for his role in his next big legal thriller, she refuses to fall for the Hollywood heartthrob’s charms. Even if he is the Jason Andrews.


961836

Season of Storms by Susanna Kearsley
Genre: Gothic Mystery

It’s been a while since I read a Gothic Mystery, but I used to binge read books in this genre a lot. This one completely wrecked me. It’s fabulously written and fairly heart wrenching. It still ends on a happy note, but one twist is just heart breaking.

Back Cover Description: When Celia Sands arrives at a remote Italian villa to star in the first performance of a deceased playwright’s masterpiece, she is instantly drawn to the mysteries surrounding the play — and to her compelling, compassionate employer.


Demon Moon

Demon Moon by Meljean Brook
Genre: Paranormal Romance

I love Meljean Brook’s work. It’s always hard to pick just one of her books as my favorite. This one wins by a small margin though. I loved the dynamic between Colin and Savitri and how complicated Colin’s vampirism made their relationship.

Back Cover Description: No one would call vampire Colin Ames-Beaumont kind, but one would call him unnaturally beautiful. For two centuries his tainted blood has kept him isolated from other vampires, sustained only by his beauty and vanity — bitter comforts. since a curse erased his mirror reflection, replacing it with a terrifying glimpse of Chaos.

Savitri Murray’s insatiable curiosity has gotten her into trouble before but she’s always escaped unscathed. Then Colin comes along. In the midst of Heaven, he gives her a taste of ecstasy — and of Chaos, Deadly creatures from that realm herald the return of an imprisoned Nosferatu horde, and Colin and Savi’s bond is their only protection — and their only passion.


3819326

Angels’ Blood by Nalini Singh
Genre: Paranormal Romance

This is an odd series. Some novels in it I would consider Urban Fantasy, while other’s lean more toward PNR. This is one I would lean more toward Urban Fantasy. The world Singh has built here is wonderfully dark and I love the idea of angels being terrifying beings.

Back Cover Description: Vampire hunter Elena Deveraux knows she is the best- but she does not know if even she is good enough for this job. Hired by the dangerously beautiful archangel Raphael, a being so lethal that no mortal wants his attention, Elena knows failure is not an option—even if the task is impossible.

Because this time, it’s not a wayward vamp she has to track. It’s an archangel gone bad.

The job will put Elena in the midst of a killing spree like no other—and pull her to the razor’s edge of passion. Even if the hunt does not destroy her, succumbing to Raphael’s seductive touch just might. For when archangels play, mortals break.


30187

Divine by Mistake by P.C. Cast
Genre: Paranormal Romance

P.C. Cast is an author I used to read a lot of in the past. This series had a unique story and the world was fairly interesting. I might have to do a re-read soon. I can’t remember large chunks of it anymore.

Back Cover Description: The most excitement teacher Shannon Parker expected on her summer vacation was a little shopping. But then her latest purchase–a vase with the Celtic goddess Epona on it–somehow switches her into the world of Partholon, where she’s treated like a goddess. A very temperamental goddess… It seems that Shannon has stepped into another’s role as the Goddess Incarnate of Epona. And while it has some very appealing moments–what woman doesn’t like a little pampering now and then?–it also comes with a ritual marriage to a centaur and the threat of war against the evil Fomorians. Oh, and everyone disliking her because they think she’s her double.


let's pretend

Let’s Pretend This Never Happened by Jenny Lawson
Genre: Humor/Non-Fiction

This book is hilarious. It had me laughing out-loud on multiple occasions. Not sure you’d enjoy the humor? Then just read this blog post about Beyonce the Giant Metal Chicken.

Back Cover Description: Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives—the ones we’d like to pretend never happened—are in fact the ones that define us. In the #1 New York Times bestseller, Let’s Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor. Chapters include: “Stanley the Magical, Talking Squirrel”; “A Series of Angry Post-It Notes to My Husband”; “My Vagina Is Fine. Thanks for Asking”; “And Then I Snuck a Dead Cuban Alligator on an Airplane.” Pictures with captions (no one would believe these things without proof) accompany the text.

18 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: 10 Books I Really Love But Feel Like I Haven’t Talked About Enough

  1. The Bloody Chamber sounds good, I like the idea of dark retellings of fairy tales. And The LAst Twilight sounds fun too- virus hunters plus evil companies plus experiments. Sounds like a win! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Barb! If I remember right, I had a really hard time finding the first book in this PC Cast series. I think it had been out of print at the time, so maybe that’s why? I’m not sure if it’s back in print or not.

      Like

  2. I love the Guild Hunter series. I think it was originally intended to be UF, but then Singh decided that she wanted to tell the stories of some of the other characters. I don’t have any kind of source on that, it is just my opinion. No matter how that series came about, I think it is a great series and I love it to pieces.

    I also love The Nadia Stafford series by Kelley Armstrong. I wasn’t sure how I would like picking up something from Armstrong that wasn’t UF, but I ended up loving it. It is one of my favorite series. I would include it on a list of underrated series too.

    I haven’t tried Meljean Brook yet, but she is an author that I’ve been wanting to try for a while now. I’ll be sure to start with the series you mention. Thanks for the recommendation.

    Melanie @ Hot Listens & Rabid Reads

    Liked by 1 person

    • That would make so much sense if it was originally supposed to be a UF. I could definitely see how that might have been the case.

      I’m glad to hear you’re a fan of the Nadia Stafford series as well! It’s extremely underrated. For a while there I was worried that we’d never get a third a final book. It took years for that last one to come out.

      I hope you do give Meljean Brook a shot! The first book in the series (the one before Demon Moon) is a little slow paced, but the series picks up after that. I thought the same thing with her Iron Seas series.

      Like

Leave a Reply

