Read it or Ditch it: The Catcher in the Rye

read it or ditch it

“Read it or Ditch it” is a new weekly feature I’ll be doing each Monday on the blog. The goal is to force myself into making a decision regarding some titles on my TBR pile. Each week I’ll select a book that has sat unread on my shelves for longer than a year and ask the question “Read it or Ditch it?”. If I still want to read it, then by posting it here I’m claiming that I’ll read it by the end of the year. If I’m no longer interested in the book, then this is a send off to the title since I’ll either be donating or selling it.

At the end of the year, I’ll do a round-up post to see how I did. If there are any titles that I said I’d read, but still didn’t, then I’ll either donate or sell those. Hopefully, doing this will help me reach my goal of only 100 books sitting unread on my TBR pile by the end of 2016.


 

5107

The Catcher in the Rye
Author: J.D. Salinger
Published: 1951
Genre: Classic Literature
Length of Time on TBR Pile: About 5 years.
Read it or Ditch it?: Read it

I somehow managed to get through high school and college without being required to read this book. It’s one I feel like I should have read though, so about 5 years ago I bought it from a used bookstore. I’m horrible about getting around to reading classics, despite owning quite a few. This is a rather short book, so I’m going to commit to reading it sometime before the end of the year.

In case you’re interested in the summary:

Since his debut in 1951 as The Catcher in the Rye, Holden Caulfield has been synonymous with “cynical adolescent.” Holden narrates the story of a couple of days in his sixteen-year-old life, just after he’s been expelled from prep school, in a slang that sounds edgy even today and keeps this novel on banned book lists. His constant wry observations about what he encounters, from teachers to phonies (the two of course are not mutually exclusive) capture the essence of the eternal teenage experience of alienation.

14 thoughts on “Read it or Ditch it: The Catcher in the Rye

  1. I actually read this one. You can’t read them all in school. I remember seeing people talk about the fact that To Kill a Mocking Bird is no longer going to be sold in mass market paperbacks and how that is going to hurt schools. I’ve never read it. It wasn’t read in my school. I can’t even remember what books I read in high school. I know I took American lit, but couldn’t tell you what books I read. I think I read Catcher in the Rye in middle school. Plus, I think schools need to choose some newer works to include and not just stick with the classics. Have a few of both. I can’t wait to hear your thoughts. I can’t even remember my thoughts on it.

    Melanie @ Hot Listens & Rabid Reads

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve never read To Kill a Mocking Bird either. There were two intro to lit class in my high school that we could take. I opted for the one where we got to read The Great Gatsby and Macbeth. So I missed reading that one, Catcher in the Rye and Romeo and Juliet.

      I completely agree. Schools need to start selecting different works to teach. Especially colleges. I was an English major and ended-up having to re-read a lot of the same material. The big ones were Hamlet (taught in 4 classes) and Heart of Darkness (taught in 6). It wasn’t like I could avoid classes that were teaching those either because most of the it was for standard required classes for the major. There are so many other books that could have been taught, including contemporary classics.

      Like

      • Yeah, it’s a pretty easy read. Surprisingly. Although, it was assigned for class to be the focus for a month or two. When I told my teacher I finished in a day, she decided to assign me East of Eden instead. So, I don’t know if it was good of me to finish in a day at the time xD Hope you enjoy!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Read it or Ditch it: The Catch-Up Post | Book Minx

Leave a Reply

