Read it or Ditch it: More of This World or Maybe Another

read it or ditch it

“Read it or Ditch it” is a new weekly feature I’ll be doing each Monday on the blog. The goal is to force myself into making a decision regarding some titles on my TBR pile. Each week I’ll select a book that has sat unread on my shelves for longer than a year and ask the question “Read it or Ditch it?”. If I still want to read it, then by posting it here I’m claiming that I’ll read it by the end of the year. If I’m no longer interested in the book, then this is a send off to the title since I’ll either be donating or selling it.

At the end of the year, I’ll do a round-up post to see how I did. If there are any titles that I said I’d read, but still didn’t, then I’ll either donate or sell those. Hopefully, doing this will help me reach my goal of only 100 books sitting unread on my TBR pile by the end of 2016.


 

6602226

More of This World or Maybe Another
Author: Barb Johnson
Published: 2009
Genre: General Fiction
Length of Time on TBR Pile: About 5 years.
Read it or Ditch it?: Ditch it

I don’t read a whole lot of general fiction anymore and this one just no longer interests me. So, I’m going to donate it.

In case you’re interested in the summary:

From the backstreets of New Orleans to the rural Gulf Coast–this is the territory Johnson mines so unforgettably in her debut story collection. Filled with humor and pathos, with the nearness and danger of life on the edge, these stories chart the anxious inner moments of four related characters.

Johnson introduces the teenage Delia in the midst of working up the nerve for a first kiss; and Dooley, who drives a forklift for a living but dreams of a career in music that’s been put on ice after a tragic accident. Pudge, an alcoholic who survived a cruel childhood with an abusive father, now hides from his own son, Luis; and Luis, raised without a father, concocts a suitable end for his mother’s horrible boyfriend. Determined to save both Pudge and his son from an unhappy end, Johnson’s cast of characters huddles together at the local laundromat, scheming.

Johnson’s stories are sweet, messy, and heart-rending. As we watch her characters through her wide-angle lens, she makes us believe that life is worth living even when the circumstances say otherwise. Irresistible and perfect, More of This World or Maybe Another introduces an original voice in American fiction.

11 thoughts on “Read it or Ditch it: More of This World or Maybe Another

  1. Pingback: Read it or Ditch it: The Catch-Up Post | Book Minx

Leave a Reply

