Read it or Ditch it: Women Who Run with the Wolves

read it or ditch it

“Read it or Ditch it” is a new weekly feature I’ll be doing each Monday on the blog. The goal is to force myself into making a decision regarding some titles on my TBR pile. Each week I’ll select a book that has sat unread on my shelves for longer than a year and ask the question “Read it or Ditch it?”. If I still want to read it, then by posting it here I’m claiming that I’ll read it by the end of the year. If I’m no longer interested in the book, then this is a send off to the title since I’ll either be donating or selling it.

At the end of the year, I’ll do a round-up post to see how I did. If there are any titles that I said I’d read, but still didn’t, then I’ll either donate or sell those. Hopefully, doing this will help me reach my goal of only 100 books sitting unread on my TBR pile by the end of 2016.


 

171228

Women Who Run with the Wolves
Author: Clarissa Pinkola Estes, Ph.D.
Published: 1992
Genre: Non-Fiction
Length of Time on TBR Pile: About 10 years.
Read it or Ditch it?: Read it

I’ve had this one on my shelves for about 10 years. It’s been recommended to me multiple times, I’ve just never gotten around to reading it. I don’t read a whole lot of non-fiction. Usually I’m lucky to get through 1 non-fiction title a year.

In case you’re interested in the summary:

Within every woman there is a wild and natural creature, a powerful force, filled with good instincts, passionate creativity, and ageless knowing. Her name is Wild Woman, but she is an endangered species. Clarissa Pinkola Estes, Ph.D., Jungian analyst and cantadora storyteller shows how women’s vitality can be restored through what she calls “psychic archeological digs” into the ruins of the female unconsious. Using multicultural myths, fairy tales, folk tales, and stories, Dr. Estes helps women reconnect with the healthy, instinctual, visionary attributes of the Wild Woman archetype.

Dr. Estes has created a new lexicon for describing the female psyche. Fertile and life-giving, it is a psychology of women in the truest sense, a knowing of the soul.

12 thoughts on “Read it or Ditch it: Women Who Run with the Wolves

  1. Pingback: Sunday Post: February 14, 2016 | Book Minx Reads

  2. Pingback: Read it or Ditch it: The Catch-Up Post | Book Minx

Leave a Reply

