January 2016 Wrap-up

l49fix2pvmppmcfsw

January zoomed right on by. I’m glad it’s February though, one step closer to spring! It hasn’t been a bad winter here, but I’m tired of the freezing cold.

I’ve been on a young adult fantasy genre kick lately, which is odd for me. Usually, I only read a couple YA’s a year. I’ve already read 3 so far and am working on number 4.


 

Quick Reviews

In total I read 7 books in January. I managed to review most of those already. However, there are a couple that I don’t plan to write full reviews for. So, here’s a couple of quick thoughts on those two.

28483623 The Vampire’s Fake Fiancee by Kristen Painter
Published: 2016
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Rating: C

This was a cute and funny paranormal romance. Essentially, this is one of those romances where the leads pretend to be in a relationship and end up falling in love. There were aspects that I didn’t really care for though. Such as the cliched “evil other woman” character. But overall, this was an ok read.

suicide squad walled in Suicide Squad, vol 5: Walled In by Matt Kindt

Published: 2014
Genre: Comic
Rating: C –

I’m officially done with this series. This volume was pretty boring. It felt like the main squad was barely in it. Out of the 5 volumes I’ve read, only 1 has been really worth the read.


 

Reading Challenge Progress

I didn’t do so hot with most of my reading challenges. The only one I made any real progress on was the “New to Me” challenge. Below are updates on the challenges that I made some sort of progress on in Jan.

743595af875fa2f14ce64ba61d36a6c3 New To You Reading Challenge

2016 Goal: 25 “New to Me” Authors

“New to Me” Authors Read in January: 3

  • John Scalzi (Redshirts)
  • Leigh Bardugo (Six of Crows)
  • Sarah J. Mass (A Court of Thorns and Roses) – Review to come

ReadMyOwnDamnBooksbutton Read My Own Damn Books Challenge

2016 Goal: Clear my TBR pile down to 100 books

TBR count at the beginning of the month: 170

TBR count at the end of the month: 176

I seem to be going in the wrong direction. I blame that this month on my mostly reading library books. Out of the 7 books I read, 5 were from the library, 1 was from my TBR pile and 1 was something I bought and read immediately.


New-Release-Challenge2016-450x450 2016 New Release Challenge

2016 Goal: 1 – 15 books – New Release Newbie

New releases read in Jan.: 1

  • The Vampire’s Fake Fiancee by Kristen Painter

 

12 thoughts on “January 2016 Wrap-up

  1. Pingback: Sunday Post: February 7, 2016 | Book Minx Reads

  2. Pingback: February 2016 Wrap-up | Book Minx Reads

  3. Pingback: March 2016 Wrap-up | Book Minx Reads

  4. Pingback: April 2016 Wrap-up | Book Minx Reads

Leave a Reply

