Read it or Ditch it: Mudd in Your Eye

AND MORE

“Read it or Ditch it” is a new weekly feature I’ll be doing each Monday on the blog. The goal is to force myself into making a decision regarding some titles on my TBR pile. Each week I’ll select a book that has sat unread on my shelves for longer than a year and ask the question “Read it or Ditch it?”. If I still want to read it, then by posting it here I’m claiming that I’ll read it by the end of the year. If I’m no longer interested in the book, then this is a send off to the title since I’ll either be donating or selling it.

At the end of the year, I’ll do a round-up post to see how I did. If there are any titles that I said I’d read, but still didn’t, then I’ll either donate or sell those. Hopefully, doing this will help me reach my goal of only 100 books sitting unread on my TBR pile by the end of 2016.


 

1316646

Mudd in Your Eye
Author: Jerry Oltion
Published: 1997
Genre: Sci-Fi
Series: Star Trek: The Original Series #81
Length of Time on TBR Pile: 3 or 4 years, can’t be sure since I forgot to add it to GoodReads when I got it.
Read it or Ditch it?: Read it

Oh jeez, I didn’t even realize I had a Star Trek book hidden in my TBR pile. I’m guessing I picked this up sometime during grad school when I went on a major Star Trek binge. One of my favorite episodes from the original series is “Mudd’s Women”, so that’s probably why I randomly picked this one up. I’m definitely going to aim to read it before the end of the year.

For those who may be interested, here’s the synopsis:

After millennia of warfare, the planets Prastor and Distrel may have finally achieved a lasting peace. Investigating on behalf of the Federation, Captain Kirk is shocked to find out that the architect of the peace is none other than that notorious con artist, Harcourt Fenton Mudd! Mudd claims to be a changed man, but Kirk has his doubts. He knows that Mudd has to be running some sort of scam, but what is he up to? Kirk must find out soon–before the peace gives way to unending war.

26 thoughts on “Read it or Ditch it: Mudd in Your Eye

  1. Ooo I really like this idea! I might have to go through my pile and decide the same thing. I can’t wait to see what you come up with each week. I have books that have been in my pile for over three years, it is awful!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yay! I hope you do decide to do the same thing. I’m a little shocked at how long some of the title’s I have on my shelves have been there once I actually start counting the years.

      Like

    • Of course! I’m excited to see what books you’ll read or ditch each week.

      You could always start off with the reboot Star Trek movie if you want to see if it’s something you’d be able to get into. A lot of Star Trek fans dislike the reboots but I think they work as a good introduction for people not really familiar with the show.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Will do! I’m going to try to squeeze it in sometime this month I think.

      I’m glad that you love that episode too. After I posted this I actually went through and binge watched a few episodes of TOS. I absolutely love the dog they dress up as an alien creature in “The Enemy Within” it makes me laugh every time I see it. 😛

      Like

    • Thanks, Li! I’m curious to see what books you’ll decide to read or ditch. I think you could do it with ebooks too, the only downside would be that if you decided you were no longer interested in reading a book you couldn’t really donate or sell it. 😦

      Like

  2. Pingback: Sunday Post: January 17, 2016 | Book Minx Reads

  3. Pingback: Read it or Ditch it: The Catch-Up Post | Book Minx

Leave a Reply

