Film Friday: White Christmas

MV5BMjA0Mzg0OTU0OF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTYwNTM4MjY5._V1_SY317_CR5,0,214,317_AL_

White Christmas
Release Year: 1954
Running Time: 2 hours


For my second Christmas film pick, I decided to go with a movie that’s relatively new to me. Unlike “Home Alone”, I watched “White Christmas” for the first time last year and fell in love with how quaint it is.

The plot goes thusly, old war buddies, turned performers, Bob Wallace (Bing Crosby) and Phil Davis (Danny Kaye) go to a show featuring two sisters. Bob and Phil take a shining to the sisters and, after helping them sneak out of a performance, they end up at the same failing lodge in Vermont. When Bob and Phil discover that the place is owned by their old general, they team-up with the sisters to save the inn with a grand Christmas show.

White-Christmas-1954-christmas-movies-3177249-960-536

Their show had everything but the kitchen sink.

It’s hard to go wrong with a musical featuring Irving Berlin’s music. The most easily recognizable song is “White Christmas”, which is crooned by Bing Crosby. (You can’t get more Christmas-y than that.) However, there are a few other fun tunes, including the songs “Sisters” and “Count Your Blessings Instead of Sheep”. While Crosby has some of the best songs in the movie, Danny Kaye is also just excellent, playing well off of Crosby’s drier humor.

kfynoaih4lswe

The “Sisters” reprise is one of my favorite scenes.

Where the movie falls flat is with the romance between Crosby and Rosemary Clooney’s characters. While it’s fabulous to listen to them sing together, I thought Danny Kaye and Vera-Ellen had more chemistry. I kept finding myself wanting to see more of their joking/promiscuous characters interact, rather than more of the straight-laced Crosby and Clooney. This also might be because Crosby and Clooney are continuously hopping from one misunderstanding to another, which got annoying.

white1

I might also just have a thing for Danny Kaye.

While some of the dance numbers can feel a bit intrusive, I can’t help but be charmed by them. The bright colors and old sound stages are just wonderful and easily distract from the odd, almost beatnik, dances. Plus, Vera-Ellen has some great upbeat numbers that make up for their seeming randomness.

If you haven’t seen this movie yet, I would suggest checking it out. It oozes with the perfect Christmas feels; especially the storyline featuring the General, which always manages to bring a tear to my eye.  All in all, this is a great one to cozy up with on a snowy day.

As a final note, I’ll leave you with my favorite dance scene from the movie:


11 thoughts on “Film Friday: White Christmas

    • It is on Netflix, which I love because I’m lazy and like not having to pop the DVD into the player. 😛 I hope your whole family likes the movie if you watch it with them!

      Like

  1. Awesome movie, one of my favorites. We always have to watch it this time of year. Like you, I think the musical numbers you posted- the best one! “Sisters” is great, and I also agree that Danny Kaye and Vera Ellen might be the best part of this movie. Certainly the most entertaining! I like the scene on the train a lot too. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ooo, yeah! I love the scene on the train as well. It’s a great a moment and I like the song a lot too.

      I’m glad I’m not the only one who thinks that Danny Kaye and Vera-Ellen are the best part of the movie. 😀

      Like

  2. Pingback: Sunday Post: Dec. 13, 2015 | Book Minx Reads

Leave a Reply

