Review: Must Love Hellhounds by Various

must love hell hounds

Must Love Hellhounds
Authors: Various
Published: 2009
Genre: Paranormal Romance/Urban Fantasy Anthology
Series: Southern Vampire Mysteries #9, Guild Hunter #.5, Kate Daniels #3.5, & The Guardians #5.5
Rating: B


The Brittingens Go to Hell by Charlaine Harris

Rating: N/A
Didn’t read this installment in the book. I’ve tried to read Harris in the past but could never really get into her. So I decided to skip this one.


Angels’ Judgment by Nalini Singh

Rating: A-
This is a short prequel story to Singh’s Guild Hunter series. It features Sara Haziz right before she decides to accept the Guild Hunter director job. Its basically a “how they met” story about how Sara and her husband, Deacon, got together. I loved this story.

Sara and Deacon are assigned the job of finding out who is behind a spurt of vampire slayings in the area. Signs point to it being a hunter who has gone rogue. However, things begin to get complicated when one of the archangels decides to test the potential new guild director.

Like most of the things I’ve read from Singh, this was pretty fabulous. However, places felt a little rushed. Singh had several good plot threads going that could’ve easily carried a longer story. Great installment for fans of the series.


Magic Mourns by Ilona Andrews

Rating: B-
This is the story I bought the book for.

Andrea Nash works for the Knights of Merciful Aid and has been taking care of things while Kate recovers from an injury. After receiving a call about an enormous dog terrorizing a shifter, Andrea heads out to investigate. What she finds is Raphael, a hyena shifter, being chased by a three headed dog the size of a house. The Cerberus is there because someone stole the body of a person who worshiped Hades. Now Andrea and Raphael have to find out who, why and how to get rid of the giant dog.

I was pretty pleased with this. The setting and characters were interesting. I enjoyed the dystopian-ish tone of the story. The only reason why I’m giving it a B- is because it lagged in some areas for me.


Blind Spot by Meljean Brook

Rating: A-
One thing I have to say about Brook is that she has a pretty dense writing style. She packs a lot of depth into her stories and I love that.

Blind Spot features Maggie “Winters” Wren as she tries to track down Colin’s, her employer, kidnapped niece. First, however, she has to retrieve Geoff, Colin’s nephew. Geoff is blind, but has the ability to see through other people’s eyes. He had been using his talent in an attempt to find his sister until he was attacked and chained to a heat register. After being rescued by Maggie, Geoff makes a deal that has them working together to find his sister.

Great short story. Geoff was an interesting character and I enjoyed his ability. However, Maggie really stole the show for me in this one. She reminded me of Jeeves from P.G. Wodehouse‘s novels if he had been a trained assassin. Pretty kick-ass if you ask me.

5 thoughts on “Review: Must Love Hellhounds by Various

    • I love Singh’s Guild Hunter series. I hope you enjoy the books when you read them. It’s probably a good thing you have all the Ilona Andrews books! I didn’t start the series until 2010 but I had all the books in the series at the time as well. I ended up blasting through them all in a week. I couldn’t stop reading them once I started.

      Like

  1. Pingback: Sunday Post: November 22 | Book Minx Reads

Leave a Reply

