Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Will Probably Never Read

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s theme is Top Ten Books I Will Probably Never Read!

I’m narrowing this down further to, Top Ten Books That I Own and Will Probably Never Read (or finish reading). These are the novels that have been sitting on my shelves for years and constantly get passed over.


Dead Witch Walking

Dead Witch Walking by Kim Harrison
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Reason: I’ve tried many times to read this book, but just can’t do it. Despite this, I will probably always have it. My mom got it for me and wrote a lovely note inside. So I can’t part with it.


don Quixote

Don Quixote by Cervantes
Genre: Classic
Reason: I gave this one a good try about 3 years ago. Made it 300 pages in before I gave up. Now it’s sitting on my shelf collecting dust next to Les Miserables. I’m going to start calling that shelf the “too damn long” graveyard.


the memory keepers daughter

The Memory Keeper’s Daughter by Kim Edwards
Genre: General Fiction
Reason: I don’t even remember how I got this book and its somehow missed several book purges. It doesn’t sound like my kind of story. It’s probably going to get donated to the library the next time I go through my books.


some girls bite

Some Girls Bite by Chloe Neill
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Reason: I got this one over a year ago in ebook format because it was on sale for 1.99. After reading Lucky Break, I will probably never read this one.


the fault in our stars

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
Genre: Young Adult
Reason: Not a fan of weepy books. I got this one because several of my friends had been gushing over it, but I keep putting off reading it. It’s one that I know I would probably like, but will probably never read.


what hath god wrough

What Hath God Wrought by Daniel Walker Howe
Genre: Non-Fiction
Reason: I aspire to one day read this tome (over 900 pages) but in all honesty, it’s probably going to stay in the “too damn long” graveyard. Diligently helping to hold down my tall, slightly wobbly bookcase.


fear of flying

Fear of Flying by Erica Jong
Genre: Fiction
Reason: A book I own because it’s considered a classic feminist book. I just can’t work up the interest to read it.


11297282

Social Media for Social Good by Heather Mansfield
Genre: Non-Fiction
Reason: I bought this when I was looking to do a non-profit certificate. For several reasons, I decided to hold off on doing the certificate. So, I doubt I will actually ever read it.


315340

The Tenderness of Wolves by Stef Penney
Genre: Mystery(?)
Reason: I stumbled across The Tenderness of Wolves years ago when I was reading Stephen King’s 10 Best Books of 2008 in Entertainment Weekly. It had sounded interesting, but sometime over the years I’ve lost interest in reading it. Plus, I let my grandfather borrow it last year and he didn’t give it much of a recommendation. So, this is one I will probably never read.


76611

A Natural History of the Senses by Diane Ackerman
Genre: Non-Fiction
Reason: As an undergrad, I took a course on nature in literature. It was interesting because it was something that the professor had a deep passion for. This was one of the books he suggest we read. I got it based on that, but I doubt I’ll actually read it. While I enjoyed discussing nature essays in the class, I don’t really get into reading them on my own.

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Will Probably Never Read

  1. Ha, I remember reading Fear of Flying way back when! At the time, it was so scandalous, but now? Probably no big deal. The Memory Keeper’s Daugher — I’d say don’t bother. I read it, and it didn’t do anything for me at all.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, unfortunately books like that tend to date themselves quick. Like “Peyton Place”. Glad to hear that I’m not missing much with The Memory Keeper’s Daughter. I’ll probably donate it to the library on my next book purge. 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

