Top Ten Tuesday: All Time Favorite Authors

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s theme is Top Ten All Time Favorite Authors!

These are authors whose books I have a deep affection for. Their stories sit on my favorite bookshelf and anytime I move, their novels are the ones that I look for first when I unpack.  In no particular order, here are some of my favorites.


862350

Kelley Armstrong

I have yet to run across a book by Armstrong that doesn’t work for me. I loved her Nadia Stafford series and have a deep affection for Women of the Otherworld. I love it to the point where I can’t watch the TV show based off the books because they’ve changed too much. I don’t consider myself a purist, as I usually adore adaptations of my favorite stories, but for some reason I just can’t do it with this one.


dancing floorcrocodile on the sandbank

Barbara Michaels/Elizabeth Peters

I was heartbroken to discover to Elizabeth Peters (aka Barbara Michaels) died in 2013. She has been one of my favorite authors for years with an impressive backlog of mysteries under both her pen names. I went on a huge reading binge of her work when I first discovered her novels and feel as if I still have a ton left to read.


9858081

PG Wodehouse

Wodehouse’s Jeeves series is always a ton of fun. It’s populated with ridiculous characters that you can’t help but love. The only problem with Wodehouse is that all his titles run together, so I often don’t know if I’ve read the story until I get a couple of chapters in and realize, “Oh yes, this is the one with the cow creamer. Damn it, now I have ANOTHER copy of this book.”


kraken king

Meljean Brook

Brook is an author who’s page I constantly check for updates about her next book. She’s a great writer who knows how to write an epic series and I really appreciate that they have clear endings. The series don’t continue on forever until it dies a slow horrible death.


4345498

Ilona Andrews

I feel like I took forever to hop on the Andrews train, but once I did I devoured their entire backlog. I think there’s only two books that I haven’t read by them yet, which is unusual. Unless the author has a very small backlog, I don’t usually get around to reading practically everything by them.


11566

Stephen King

I grew up with Stephen King. My mom was a huge fan and some of my early memories are of going to the grocery store with her to pick-up installments of The Green Mile as they were released. His stories have been an odd part of my childhood and I have a weird affection for his work despite only having actually read a handful of his giant backlog.


73445

Edgar Allan Poe

I had forgotten how much I love Poe’s work until I stumbled across a large collected volume of his work during my move. I ended up sitting on the floor of my room re-reading some of my favorites rather than continuing to pack.


moor

Laurie R. King

Technically, Laurie R. King would be the author of a favorite series. I haven’t actually given her other series a shot. I just love her Mary Russell books too much not to include her on this list.


black widow

Marjorie M. Liu

Marjorie M. Liu is a genre jumping author, with some great paranormal romances, urban fantasies, and comic books. Right now, it seems like she’s concentrating primarily on her Hunter’s Kiss urban fantasy series, but I have high hopes that she’ll return to write a couple more books in her Dirk and Steele series.


captain marvel

Kelly Sue DeConnick

Kelly Sue DeConnick is the writer who got me back into comics after a long hiatus from reading them. I have yet to come across something written by her that I didn’t like.

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: All Time Favorite Authors

Leave a Reply

