Month(s) in Review: February and March 2015

February and March were reading slump months for me (and April is turning out the same way). This is because for the past couple of months I’ve been in the process of starting a new job and going through a major relocation. With so much going on, my reading time took a major hit, but I’m hoping to get back on track with posting regularly in May.

For February and March, I read a combined total of 9 books. I managed to write reviews for 5 of them. Below you will find short reviews for the 4 books I read but didn’t review and links to the full reviews I wrote in Feb and March.

Total Books: 9

Total Reviews: 5


Entreat Me

Entreat Me by Grace Draven
Genre: Fantasy/Romance
Series: N/A — Standalone Novel
Rating: A –

When Louvaen Duenda’s sister runs off with a near stranger in a misguided effort to save the family, Louvaen pursues them. However, when Louvaen arrives at the castle where the man has whisked her sibling, she finds the cursed inhabitants believing that her sister is the last hope to breaking the curse. This is a wonderful Beauty and Beast retelling with some unique twists and wonderfully developed characters. Grace Draven is quickly becoming a favorite new author of mine.


lucky break

Lucky Break by Chloe Neill
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Series: Chicagoland Vampires 10.5
Rating: C

I’ve been avoiding the Chicagoland Vampire series for years, but when I stumbled across this new novella I decided to see if I might be able to get into these books. Merit, an enforcer for master vampire Ethan, is attempting to have a romantic getaway. Unfortunately, the getaway is quickly ruined by a murder and the escalation of a centuries old feud. This was….boring. The writing was fine, but nothing about the world or characters really drew me in. I might have enjoyed this more had it been around 10 years ago, when I was inhaling the Anita Blake series. Back then I probably would’ve found the rules of Neill’s vampire and werewolf society interesting. Now vampire politics in stories tend to annoy me. So, I doubt I’ll be reading any of the full length books in this series.


unleashing

The Unleashing by Shelly Laurenston
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Series: Call of Crows #1
Rating: C

I was graciously given an ARC of The Unleashing to review, but time got away from me and I wasn’t able to write a review for this before the publish date. Kera Watson finds herself adjusting to life as a crow warrior after her death. With a new thirst for bloodshed, a league of unorganized fellow warriors, and a hulking man named Vig following her around; Kera has a lot to get used to in a short amount of time before the real trouble sets in. This was an ok start to a new series by Laurenston. The major problem with this book is that it’s weighed down by all the world building . It was extremely slow moving with not much happening except a lot of bickering until about the half-way mark. While I liked that Kera was a toned down version of Laurenston’s typical heroine, I found that she didn’t work when up against the other characters. Primarily because they were typical Laurenston characters and their brand of crazy only works if everyone is on the same page. Despite this, I generally enjoyed the story and am interested to see where Laurenston decides to take this series.


 brink of passion

Brink of Passion by Sondrae Bennett
Genre: Paranormal Romance/Erotica
Series: Alpine Woods Shifters #6
Rating: D +

The Alpine Woods Shifters series are quick reads that I tend to pick-up when I’m not in the mood to get involved in a full-length book. While I have enjoyed the earlier books in the series, this one wasn’t all that great. Wolf-shifter Laurie has stumbled across her mate, Max, at a convention and makes a mistake that has their courtship going faster than she would like. Now she finds herself suddenly having to sell her business and move to a new city where she knows no one. My main issue with Brink of Passion is that there was no give and take in the relationship. Laurie is just expected to give up everything she has built over the course of her life and she does. Then she’s essentially ignored by Max once she moves, but we’re supposed to think he’s sweet and caring because he lets her get a pet to keep her company. Meanwhile, Max is dealing with an attack on his cousin and keeping Laurie out of it for no real reason. These two were just too unbalanced for me to get behind their relationship.


My Book Reviews from February and March

4 thoughts on “Month(s) in Review: February and March 2015

  1. I know exactly where you’re coming from – I’ve been so busy lately that it feels I haven’t read anything in AGES. I haven’t read JD Robb for a while – I used to buy them as soon as they hit the shelves, but NR’s writing doesn’t seem to be working for me lately.

    Li

    Liked by 1 person

    • I know! It’s been crazy busy! I’m hoping things slow down a little soon. Glad I’m not the only one feeling rushed. 😛

      I’m enjoying NR writing as JD Robb quite a bit. For some reason, I can’t get into the books she writes as NR though. I’ve tried to like them but just can’t seem to find one that I can finish. 😦

      Like

Leave a Reply

