Top Ten Books I Wouldn’t Mind Santa Bringing This Year

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s theme is Top Ten Books I wouldn’t mind santa bringing this year.

For this list, I’m going to go with books that I wouldn’t typically buy for myself but would love to own someday. I’m also only going to go with 8 books this time.


download

Jump Book by Philippe Halsman

I adore Halsman’s jump photographs. It combines old hollywood and expressive movement that fascinates me. I remember being an art minor in college and just loving the reason why he did it too. Which he says was, “motivated by a genuine curiosity.  After all, life has taught us to control and disguise our facial expressions, but it has not taught us to control our jumps.  I wanted to see famous people reveal in a jump their ambition or their lack of it, their self-importance or their insecurity, and many other traits.” Unforunately, the collection is out of print right now but you can still view most of them online. Here are a few of my favorites featuring Eartha Kitt, Eva Saint Marie, and Anthony Perkins.

D-Dorothy-Dandridge-PAR1960641S-Eva-Marie-Saint-PAR389031P-Anthony-Perkins-PAR550001


257089

Hurrell’s Hollywood Portraits by Mark A. Vieira

Hurrell is one of the people credited for inventing Hollywood Glamour and it’s well deserved. His work is gorgeous and striking. Like this picture of Loretta Young by him:

Loretta Young.tif


18053054

Fictitious Dishes by Dinah Fried

This is a weird one, but an excellent gift for a fellow literature lover. They’re photographs of meals from famous novels based on the book and short descriptions of food from it. Like this one from The Bell Jar 

“Then I tackled the avocado and crabmeat salad…Every Sunday my grandfather used to bring me an avocado pear hidden at the bottom of his briefcase under six soiled shirts and the Sunday comic.”

Fictitious_Dishes_thebelljar_WEB


9841939

The Mad Woman in the Attic by Sandra M. Gilbert and Susan Gubar

A staple in literary criticism and a book I’d love to own. I loved the small pieces I read in college but never got around to reading the entire work.


1398036

A Literature of their Own by Elaine Showalter

Another piece of criticism that I’ve read parts of and have always wanted to read fully. Very interesting book that collects British female writers. She has another “A Jury of Her Peers” which does the same with American women writers as well.


20821409

Bohemians, Bootleggers, Flappers and Swells: The Best of Early Vanity Fair by Various

A collection of articles written by various contributors to Vanity Fair between 1913 and 1936. I’m curious to read a lot of these articles, especially the ones by PG Wodehouse and Dorothy Parker.


22458264

Just One Cookbook by Namiko Chen

I love Chen’s website which features easy Japanese recipes. I’ve made several of the dishes she features and all of them have turned out delicious. I would love to own a hard copy of her cookbook.


23471595

The New Family Cookbook by America’s Test Kitchen

I own the recipe book for Baking that American’s Test Kitchen put out and it’s been one I fall back on whenever I want to make a new sugary treat. All the recipes have been great that came out of it and I love that they explain their process for coming up with the recipe. I would love to own a regular cookbook from them.

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I Wouldn’t Mind Santa Bringing This Year

    • Good! I’m glad to hear that there is some interesting things in that one! I hadn’t heard much about it since it’s been released so I was a little hesitant. Hope Santa brings you what you’re wishing for as well! 🙂

      Like

  1. Ooh, I’d love the Jump Book. I’ve seen his photos over the years, but it would be amazing to have a whole collected edition of them. Great list — I hope you get at least some of what you’re hoping for!

    Like

Leave a Reply

