Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten New-To-Me Authors I Read In 2014

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s theme is Top Ten New to Me Authors I Read in 2014.

I like to stay in my comfort zone of authors, so I didn’t have enough this year to make a complete 10 for this list. However, I started reading comics and manga again this year so that helped beef-up this list.


21458599

Kelly Sue DeConnick

I haven’t ran across something by DeConnick that I haven’t liked yet. Really loving her work on the Captain Marvel series. Pretty Deadly is on my list to read for 2015.


18774918

Tomu Ohmi

Really loving this manga author that I ran across this year. Ohmi’s Kindan no koi de ikou series was fantastic. Unfortunately, it hasn’t been translated into English/released in the states yet. However, you can find her Midnight Secretary series and the new Spell of Desire series both in English.


15789274

 Jason Aaron

I haven’t read a lot of Jason Aaron yet, but I’m really enjoying his run on Wolverine and the X-men so I’m counting him here.


15737777

QuinRose

I’m really enjoying the guilty pleasure of reading through QuinRose’s various “Alice in the Country of…” manga series. They’re fun bits of fluff that I was happy to stumble across this year. If you’re interested in giving them a shot I would recommend reading Alice in the Country of Clover: Cheshire Waltz, since the series is completely published in English and stands well on it’s own.


18629631

Katharine Ashe

I used to devour historical romances but for the past 5 years I haven’t been able to get into the genre. On a whim, I read the novella Kisses She Wrote  and was really into it. In the upcoming year I might give a full-length Ashe book a shot.


 17569784Rosanna Leo

A random paranormal romance author I stumbled across last week. I enjoyed her story Sweet Hell which has a lot of Greek mythology inserted into it and look forward to picking-up the rest of her books when I’m looking for something light to read after work.


20800759

Truman Capote

A classic author that I had sadly never read until this year. I listened to the audio of Breakfast at Tiffany’s, which was read by Michael C Hall. The book was gorgeous and well worth the sit through. I’m looking forward to picking-up more of Capote’s work in the future.


17181953

Bec McMaster

I tend to check-out novellas by “new to me” authors first before I commit to a full-length book. Bec McMaster was one of those this year.


11

Douglas Adams

Another classic author I listened to on audio this year. I got through the first three Hitchhiker’s Guide novels read by Martin Freeman this year. I enjoyed them and can see why they’re classics, but I think I’ll stick to the audio of these rather than reading them.

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten New-To-Me Authors I Read In 2014

  1. I’ve never read any Truman Capote, although one of my resolutions for 2014 was to finally read In Cold Blood. (It didn’t happen.) The audiobook option sounds like a great idea! Maybe I’ll check out Breakfast at Tiffany’s!

    Like

    • I def recommend checking out the audiobook. It’s great!

      I’ve been thinking about picking-up In Cold Blood as well but I’m not sure if I’d be able to get through it or not. I think I’ll read a few of his other books first nefore tackling that one.

      Like

Leave a Reply

