Light My Fire

17731347

Light My Fire

Author: G.A. Aiken

Publish Date: November 25, 2014

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Series: Dragon Kin, book 7

Rating: C +


When I finished reading book six in G.A. Aiken’s “Dragon Kin” series (How to Drive a Dragon Crazy) I had told myself that I wouldn’t be picking up the next book. However, when Light My Fire popped-up as a title on NetGalley I couldn’t resist giving one more story in this series a shot.

After capturing Elina Shestakova (an Outerplains woman) for attempted regicide, Celyn promptly drops her off at the local jail and proceeds to completely forget about her for about a year. His memory is jogged, however, when there is talk of negotiating a truce between the Southlanders and Outerplains tribe. Elina is swiftly removed from jail and sent as a mediator with Celyn as her back-up.

For fans of the series, they’ll recognize Celyn as the dragon who had a brief affair with the heroine from the previous book, Izzy, and nearly got himself killed over it. Celyn was the highlight of this book for me as I enjoyed how flustered Elina’s mannerisms and expressions made him throughout the story. Elina herself was an interesting character, however the constant caveman structure of her sentences drove me insane.

My main issue with Light My Fire was that I had a lot of trouble remaining engaged with the story. A large part of this is because the characters are so flippant about everything. It’s extremely rare when any of them take anything seriously, which is what a lot of the humor relies on. However, it becomes hard to care about what is going on in the plot when the characters don’t care about what is happening. At times a character will take something very seriously but it will often be balanced with the others trivializing their reaction/concern. So there’s not a whole lot of emotional stakes in the story, which doesn’t really work for me when the book is a romance.

Bottom line, if you’re a fan of the series, I would suggest picking this one up. However, if you’re looking to get into the series, I would suggest starting with one of the earlier books first since there’s a lot of previous main characters and mentions of past plot points floating around.

Ebook provided by Netgalley and the publisher/author in exchange for an honest review.

One thought on “Light My Fire

  1. Pingback: Review: What a Dragon Should Know by G.A. Aiken | Book Minx Reads

Leave a Reply

