Top Ten Tuesday: Characters you wish would get their own book

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s theme is Ten Characters You Wish Would Get their Own Book.

This list was harder to do than I originally expected. Mostly because in the genres I read, most of the characters I’m interested in have either received their own books already or have one slotted for the future. Since this is the case, here’s my wishlist of top 6 characters who I hope will eventually get their own full-length novels:

1. Dali Harimau (Ilona Andrews’ Kate Daniels series) – Dali is a fascinating character within the Kate Daniels world and I’m ecstatic that she’s gotten one short story (Magic Dreams) and another coming out this month in the anthology Night Shift. However, I still hold out hope that she’ll eventually get a full length novel to herself.

2. Keir (Nalini Singh’s Guild Hunter series) – I’ve been fascinated with the glimpses we’ve gotten of Keir, the ancient healer angel, and am holding out hope that he’ll get either his own book or at least a short story.

3. Koni (Marjorie M. Liu’s Dirk and Steele series) – It’s been about 3 years since Liu has written anything in this series and that is immensely disappointing to me. I keep hoping that she’ll get back to writing for it and give us a book for Koni, who has been flitting around the series since book 1.

4. Nick Sorrentino (Kelley Armstrong’s Women of the Otherworld series) – Nick has done some serious emotional growth throughout the series and I would love to see this fully expanded on in his own book. Too bad Armstrong has finished this series though. However, she continues to write short stories and one of them does feature Nick (Brazen).

5. Lark (Ilona Andrews’ Edge Series) – This is another series that I believe ended. However, I’m thinking the Andrews writing team might go back to it at some point and if they do I’m hoping it’s to give Lark her own book. The girl went through a lot in this series and the last book had her finally starting to come into her own. So, I would love to see her fully make that transition and recovery in a book centered on her.

6. Asil (Patrica Brigg’s Alpha & Omega series) – Asil has a short story in the recently released anthology Shifting Shadows, but I’d love to see him get his own full length novel and bit of happiness.

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Characters you wish would get their own book

    • Nice! I’m very excited for when Night Shift comes out. So many good authors in one book!

      And yes! I was heartbroken when Andrews announced that they were scrapping the full length novel for Dali shortly after Magic Dreams was released because their story idea would’ve been too time consuming to research. 😦 I’m hoping that if this short stories does well enough that they might reconsider.

      Like

Leave a Reply

